1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic ae100 - newbie just bought one

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by mark silvester, May 13, 2002.

1. mark silvester

mark silvester

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I am brand new to video projection and also new to this forum. Which I have found excellent in every way.

Whilst I took on-board many of the negatives regarding the panasonic AE100 I decided to buy one - it will be with me next week.

I was wondering if anyone can help me regarding the following connection set-up from my DVD a SonyNS700V to the panny pj.

I would like to connect component. But the only outwrd connections from the sony are the following - S.VHS. composite (vid,audio l&R)

And the RGB via the scart one (the one used for the T.V.)

Which would be the best connection? Can I take the scart - or buy a lead - that goes from the RGB scart to 3 phonos(video) ?

I know that you probably been asked this a thousand times - but please bear with me - I would appreciate It.

Incidently - I have for years been projecting 16mm films in my home cinema and it will be interesting to see the comparison.

For those that dont know....many 16mm collectors will pay £1000+
    for just one copy of a film...even with scratches!

Best - and it is great to be on-board.

Mark

2. Bert Coules

Bert Coules

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +119
    Hi Mark,

I am certainly not an expert, and I expect that you'll get answers from people who are, but to be going on with, my understanding is that the RGB-out via a Scart socket is not directly pluggable to the AE100's component-in phonos. I believe that your best-quality connection will be via the s-video connectors.