panasonic 55st50 overscan issue.

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by jayytwo, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi everyone, i seem to have a problem with my 55st50, if overscan is set to off i have been getting black bars on the sides of the screen which sometimes are larger on one side than the other between one and three cm and other times the bar is only on one side either left or right and for instance if iam watching itv the aspect ratio changes between programs and adverts with thick black bars on either side as if the aspect ratio is set to auto on the tv.

    iam watching through a virgin samsung v+ box connected via hdmi set to output 1080 wide and the tv is set to 16:9

    also on some blu rays but not all i have a cm wide black bar on the left, if i set overscan to on i dont have the problem with v+ box or blu ray but i thought overscan should be off for blu ray, i understand about aspect ratios and that some bars will be part of the picture but this is not the problem.

    not sure if my tv is faulty, has anyone else had similar problems with this tv, any help or advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks Jay.
     
  2. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    Forgot to mention that it does it on sd and hd channels, also virgin have replaced the box with a new
    one but the problem persists.
     
  3. fluxo

    fluxo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    7,171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,332
    It would be helpful to know which blu rays/programmes cause this. Also, do you have the pixel orbiter enabled?
     
  4. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi fluxo, the black bars change size from programes to adverts but it is evident on most channels to one degree or another, its always evident on channels bbc 1, bbc 2, itv, channel 4 and channel 5 with itv showing thin broken white lines across the top, i dont have many blu rays here as i rent most but here is a list of a few i have,

    with overscan off
    avatar has a 5mm black bar on right side
    lotr trilogy
    two towers is fine
    fellowship of the ring has a 5mm black bar on left side
    return of the king has a 5mm black bar on right side
    xmen first class has a 8mm black bar on the left side
    expendables is fine
    transformers is fine
    transformers revenge of the fallen has a 5mm black bar on right side
    transformers dark of the moon is fine.

    now while i was checking these blu rays and swapping discs i also noticed that my panasonic bdt220
    blu ray player home screen also showed a 10mm black bar on the right which dissapered after swapping a couple of discs in and out,

    pixel orbiter is on but screen is the same with it off.

    i have also swapped hdmi leads and tried different inputs with no change.

    sorry if iam a bit long winded or have not provided enough information.

    starting to think tv is faulty and not scaling picture correctly to fit screen.

    Thanks Jay.
     
  5. fluxo

    fluxo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    7,171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,332
    Avatar is a good test disc as, IIRC, the film
    is presented in a 1.78:1 aspect ratio, which should be a perfect match for your screen.

    What aspect ratio have you chosen for the TV? Can you confirm it's 16:9 and not auto?

    And surely someone else must know what is going on here? It doesn't really sound like a TV fault type of issue, although I guess nothing can be ruled out.
     
  6. Lin3ar

    Lin3ar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,774
    I have a small black border (<5mm) around my GT50 screen on everything I watch. The screen is never full is right up to the bezel.

    I posted this on here and was told that it was perfectly normal.
     
  7. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    If you're referring to the black border that is normal yes, its the edge of the screen. I'd like them to be smaller myself and the F8500's is meant to be. If you had nothing there though the sets bezel could obscure part of your off your picture if the panel wasn't in perfectly. I'm sure there's more technical reasons for it too.
     
  8. fluxo

    fluxo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    7,171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,332
    I treat it as an extension of the bezel.

    With regard to the comments of the OP, I would think it is something different. The position and size of the area seems to vary according to the remarks made.

    Also, the white line seen on ITV sounds like what is quite commonly seen if overscan is off. For broadcast TV I prefer overscan on, for blu rays off. With broadcast TV there is always a chance of rubbish around the edges. Quite why they broadcast that stuff these days is something I'd like to know more about. I do know that historically there were good reasons for it, but today?
     
  9. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Agree with all the above the white line etc sounds like artifacts.
     
  10. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for the replys, the tv is set to 16:9 and not auto, i have the thin black border all around which is part of
    the screen but that is not what i am referring to, am i right in thinking that when watching a blu ray and overscan is off the picture should be right up to the thin black border which is part of the screen at the sides.

    i have the rubbish at the sides of the picture when i have the black bars as if i am seeing the very edge of the picture plus the black bars also like i said even with overscan off i wouldn't expect to see 3cm of black bar on both sides of the screen on bb1, channel 5 and others.

    also seems strange that my blu ray player was displaying a black bar when on home screen but disappeared
    after swapping a couple of discs in and out.

    i have emailed panasonic three times over the last couple of months with no reply.

    Jay.
     
  11. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    Not sure how to post photos here but have uploaded some to album on my profile page.
     
  12. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    When you post on here you have options at the top of the window, one is like a picture of mountains and a sun, press that and past the url of the picture.;)

    I use picasa and it works a treat.:)
     
  13. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
  14. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    image-1116853844.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Good pics:smashin:

    That does look odd to me, sorry if you've said but does it change with the same program on without you doing anything?
     
  16. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    No it stays the same when watching a program but changes on different programs and adverts, as you can see on the picture of the whole tv the bar on the left is smaller then on the right, also on the pic of channel 5 there is a large bar on the left but on the right hand side the picture is right up to the edge and meets the black border which is part of the screen, maybe someone who has the virgin samsung v+box and this tv can confirm that they do not have this problem to this extent with overscan off so i can rule out compatibility issues and look in to getting the tv replaced or repaired under warranty.

    Thanks Jay.
     
  17. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    I have that box, however I haven't used it in a good few months. Sorry I can't help more, if I was you I'd have it looked at as its must be misdinterperating the signal in some way if everything's setup correctly, its very odd.
     
  18. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks scooby, i'am no expert and have been through every setting, would you say that the size of the bars are too large and you would not expect to see as much with overscan off.

    Jay.
     
  19. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    I have seen it with the odd braughdcast with overscan off but not with bluray, they are quite wide but it can happen with broadcasts. What blurays does it happen on?
    The fact its doing it with bluray with the player setup correctly I'd say it must be a fault. Im no expert either I'm afraid, just an enthusiast;) if you've turned everything off and feed the set a bluray it shouldn't be there, so must be a fault, what the fault is I can only guess.
     
  20. Bumtious

    Bumtious
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Prestwich Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7,650
    IMHO there is nothing wrong.

    There certainly will be a difference with the orbiter on.

    One of your pictures is showing a C5 SD broadcast.

    For broadcast TV I don't understand why people have overscan off, I don't. Mines on.

    Resolution and compression with broadcast TV negates the advantage of 1:1 pixel mapping. It's pointless and you end up seeing the crap at the edge of the image.

    People also seem to believe that a HD channel lines things up properly. They don't. Just watch a football match and watch the edges alter.

    My advice have overscan on and orbiter on, you will still see a small edge shift but that is the side masks not the picture edge.
     
  21. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    But with bluray?
     
  22. Bumtious

    Bumtious
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Prestwich Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7,650
    Orbiter. Needs to be off with BD

    Saying that NOT ALL are matched properly either.
     
  23. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Matched?:D my set occasionally seems out by 2-3 pixels but those pictures look to be a lot more, then as you observed and I missed:facepalm: the pics have broadcast material.

    I have overscan on for braughdcast myself now and of for bluray, didn't think about the orbitor:facepalm: forgetting a lot of things at the moment:rolleyes::suicide:
     
  24. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have no problem turning it on with broadcast tv and would expect that i need it on but was
    concerned that the bars are a bit excessive.

    I think i was trying to get information as to whether i should expect to see a bar or bars either side of the
    screen 5-10mm when playing blu ray which i'am seeing with overscan off as i have read that it should be off with blu ray.


    any information is appreciated.

    Jay
     
  25. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks i shall try blu ray with orbiter off.
     
  26. Bumtious

    Bumtious
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Prestwich Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7,650
    This is mine. BBC HD and while I've been editing and posting, it's changed.




    image-1027483527.jpg



    image-3622223039.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  27. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ok just tried blu ray with overscan off and orbiter off and its sorted the bars have gone on blu ray,
    will watch broadcast tv with it on, thank you ******** i was a bit concerned something was wrong with tv

    Jay.
     
  28. Bumtious

    Bumtious
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Prestwich Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7,650
    No probs. Many people think they have issues and don't.

    Below orbiter on second is off

    image-1798555409.jpg



    image-743512294.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  29. jayytwo

    jayytwo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bracknell
    Ratings:
    +6
    I had tried turning orbiter off but must have done it whan watching broadcast tv and with the bars being large
    i didn't notice the difference,

    with blu ray the bars were smaller and turning it off snapped the image to the black border.
     

Share This Page

Loading...