1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic 42PWD8 out of the box settings and then what ??

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by 3804, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. 3804

    3804
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi all
    My Panny 42pwd8 has been ordered today,
    so have a zillion question!!
    Have used the search button on here ...honest
    It seems the obvious questions have been asked but most of the time they relate to the PW7
    "So are the pw7 settings exactly the same as for the pw8?
    if not then .....
    i guess the 50% contrast..50% brightness to run it in
    will apply ?

    so ,what would be the appropriate settings for the" 200 "hrs run in period
    And what of the features of the pw8
    Are there certains options that must be used from the start, eg anti burn..etc
    So any pw8 owners please give me a start up guide
    and then the settings you use after the bedding in period
    sure it will be useful as a rough guide :confused:
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    *8 / 10... update
    Had the pd8 4 days,
    after a couple of days, at switching on there is a section of picture missing.
    approx a 1.5 inch wide vertical solid black strip from the left hand side only
    I switched it off/on usually works ,or it just reverts back to normal whilst still on
    Is this just a running in glitch ?....or not
    any ideas ..??
    cheers
     
  2. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Treat all the advice for picture settings on the PWD7 as appropriate for the PWD8. Change from dynamic mode to normal or cinema. Reduce contrast to under 50% then adjust brightness to get a good picture. Then watch and enjoy.

    After 100 hours get a copy of Digital Video Essentials and calibrate the set using that or get the job done properly by one of us ISF techs!
     
  3. 3804

    3804
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks Piers
    So after 100 hrs you can turn up the contrast/ settings rather than the 200hrs which is often quoted here
    cheers
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    My mates PW8 needed to be in Cinema mode and around -20 on the contrast, that was monday lunch, by the time I went back round on Monday night at about 9pm we knocked the contrast up to -10, it was still very bright. I got my PHD8 on Monday too and I have gone from -15 to 0 tonight, but I have a scaler and that is -1 after running Avia so it isn't quite the same, but you get the idea.

    Set the brightness so black bars on a film look solid with no noise in them, probably around 0 or -1 or -2 on the PW8.
     
  5. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    With the Panasonics and Fujitsus ONLY (of those that I have worked on) I would have no worries about calibrating to ISF levels after 100 hours rather than 200. I calibrated my own PHD8 at zero hours then deliberately tried to induce image retention (the fore-runner of screen burn), not a trace after 4 hours of a static image. From other postings on this forum I don't recommend doing this with the PV500s.

    If you burn your screen don't blame me but like many plasma owners I was way, way over cautious with my last two. Image retention is the thing to look for, it comes well before screen burn. No image retention - no problem.
     
  6. 3804

    3804
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    gizlaroc
    thanks have put the contrast down to -10
    it seems okay ,but only using the svideo input atm
    Piers
    i think after reading all the info here ,
    it does tend to make people just a "little"cautious
    thanks again
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    Of course you are going to be cautious, If you have just spent £2-3k no one wants to come home and see it knackered, I don't think there are many people who can afford to say, oh well I will just order another one tomorrow! :)
     
  8. 3804

    3804
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    pic problem
    please see my post
    thanks
     
  9. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    No idea?

    What you running into it?
     
  10. 3804

    3804
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    Have my dvd freeview etc going to my denon 3803
    then switched through component cable into a pw8 bnc board
    pic quality is good
    gizalaroc so this particular prob or anything similar has not cropped up ?
    cheers
     
  11. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    Sounds like a bit of a problem, does it do it only on freeview?
     
  12. 3804

    3804
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    I switched from freeview to dvd, and the problem was still showing?
    Atm.
    i have a quality component cable from 3803 to pw8
    and a budget lead linking the dvd into the amp, (which i intend to replace)
    cant imagine that is the cause ?
    as the problem is random!!
    cheers
     
  13. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    First of all switch the slot the inout board is on and see what happens, actually just make sure that the board is seated properly before you go any further. Then try the dvd player direct, ie. not through the amp. You want to try and rule evey possibilty out, however it may be the input board?
     
  14. mine

    mine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    88512 Mengen Germany
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello Piers
    agreed and same here

    after 50 h I began to configure the 42-PHD 8 for 1:1 pixelmapping@50 Hz with various tools
    beginning with nokia testpatterns, DVE and Peter Finzels monitor Test CD (very good with 50(100 Hz) test tickers).
    so many static images with sharp vertikal and horizontal lines were displayed for quite a long time.

    no image retention at all.

    timings at the moment are not 100% accurate , with bloomberg tickertapes there is
    one framedrop and tiny hickup every 2 minutes or so . image quality not only with the 3 hdtv stations but with sd as well is quite amazing with a dvb/s card over vga ( pixel adaptive deinterlacing by the nVidia pure videodecoder).

    best
    mine
     
  15. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    Mine did you try what I suggested to you regarding upping the framterate .01 step at a time, I am running at 50.16 with the Crystalio.
     
  16. mine

    mine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    88512 Mengen Germany
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Giz

    after fiddling around the whole day i got it !

    Perfect 1:1 pixelmapping , 50,000 (exactly 3digits) no judder, perfect pans,perfect smooth tickertapes with Bloomberg and ntv.

    I always used Coordinated Video Timings (CVT) March 2003 as the newest VESA standard for generating display timings and this was the culprit.

    in my config @50,04 - 50,20 there was a dropped frame every 1 or 2 minutes and the
    associated microjudder....

    with

    Generalized Timing Formula (GTF) industry standard timings

    the magic happened @50,000 perfect sync

    you have only access to these different timings in the advanced nVidia control panel
    and only if the graphiccard supports an external TMDS device, such as the SI 164/1162,
    even if you use vga.

    So , now its time to enjoy some hdtv stations

    TVHD (canal+) has phantastic HDTV demos up to 19 MBit -you can find it on Astra 19 E (12581 freq)
    a lot better than euro 1080.

    *** think I can second the meaning of some avs members you can only beat this system with a terranex :) :devil: :


    happy
    mine

    now DVI we are coming ......
     
  17. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    Interesting.

    Glad you got it up and running.
     
  18. mine

    mine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    88512 Mengen Germany
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks
    Giz

    it was a lot easier than tweaking my first 30 " TFT two years ago with powerstrip
    this was a reboot orgy of a complete weekend

    seems the new highend nVidia cards have a pretty exact clock - never got this
    with ati , though for HTPC use I was an ATI aficionado for years .
    they (ati) used to have a pretty good RAMDAC , so the signal quality of analog out was always a little bit better than nVidia,
    this has changed dramatically with the new nV generation.
    access to all timing formulas , presets for 576p -1080i in all kind of variations and the possibility of custom resolutions.
    pretty good.
    what is interesting as well -the nVidia -PHD 8 combo goes linear up to 6 MHz
    and falls down rapidly after
    may be this is one of the reasons of the almost noise free picture quality of the pHD 8 and the phantastic SD performance
    my 37" over dvi is linear up to 6,75 MHz , but can`t touch the PHD 8 in overall
    PQ. Just an idea...


    regards
    m
     
  19. 3804

    3804
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    update on pic problem !!
    now have a good quality component cables,
    for dvd to amp and amp to Pw8
    put the bnc board in a different slot
    firmly seated
    turned on then after 8 min. same prob , different colours!!
    within the 1.5 inch section , 2 pink vertical stripes with narrower vertical lines in between !!
    Then back to white
    Just changed it so that the dvd runs straight to the pw8 ,
    And its okay for the last 15 min
    But as the problem has no time pattern to it . will have to wait and see
    I dont think its the amp , as i have used it with my pj without problems
    so anybody got an idea ?? or had the same prob
    thanks for looking
     
  20. 3804

    3804
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    just to update
    returned the screen to nexnix
    They confirmed the problem, replacement came yesterday
    Perfect pic upto now

    Mods you can close this
     

Share This Page

Loading...