1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic 42PHD8 or 42PV500

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by djwoody, Sep 7, 2005.

  1. djwoody

    djwoody
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Due to the lack of stock of the 42PV500's and no-one really knowing when they'll arrive I've started looking elsewhere due to sheer frustration.

    The 42PHD8 looks like a good bet but obviously these (and any other non-tuner based plasma) are going to be hard to demo. It's hard enough to demo the 42PV500 in a proper environment !

    Does anyone have an opinion?

    I've had a 50" Panasonic plasma monitor (not TV) before a few years ago and the picture quality was spectacular and I havn'r seen anything since that rivals it.

    You don't actaully need a tuner based screen with Freeview / Sky etc.

    Look forward to your opinions.
     
  2. AndoverRed

    AndoverRed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +5
    The PHD8 gives you greater flexibility, you only need to buy the interfaces (component, HDMI, etc) that are required for your kit.

    By default an integral VGA and composite+s-video are available for immediate use. JS Tech produce converters if you wish to feed the VGA port with RGB (SCART) or component (DVD).

    The downside, compared with the PV500, is that speakers, stand, and tuner are additional items. This is not really a problem if you have an existing tuner/set-top box (freeview, SKY, ntl) and want to connect the audio directly to a surround sound receiver.

    I would, and most likely will, go for a PHD8. Save £600+ over the next 6 months and then buy a scaler. All your external devices can plug into the scaler and a single output (analogue or digital) can be fed into the PHD8 panel.

    Away with the mixer. :D
     
  3. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,054
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,596
    A PHD8 will give a better picture with a scaler, but you are talking a lot more money, but more flexible.
    It depend what you want, if you want the ultimate picture and flexibility, then the PHD would suit you better.

    The PV500 is a wife friendly plasma that is very good at being a television.
     
  4. tscotsman

    tscotsman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    yeah im in the same situation, looks like my 42" wont arrive until the 20th at the earliest, im no the most patient at the best of times, but this time im truly anxious!!
     
  5. StrongSilent

    StrongSilent
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Anyone have prices, availability, lead times for the PHD8 ??
    Tavrymuch
     
  6. AndoverRed

    AndoverRed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +5
    Check out av-sales for pricing (£2,191.38 screen only). Limited stock due early September. Probably have to wait until October for volume stock.

    There should be a forum 'special' on the PHD8 in due course. I would budget £2,500 for panel+stand+component or HDMI module.

    This should match the PV500 with pedestal stand.
     
  7. davsdu

    davsdu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Why is that? Wouldn't the PV500 produce the same quality if fed by the same scaler?
     
  8. foulkeg

    foulkeg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does the PHD8 have over the PV500?
    Whilst awaiting stock on the PV500 - I've looked into the PHD8 and found it to be only £80 less than the PV500.
    This means I've still got to find speakers/tuner/add-on inputs with my £80 change.
    Am I missing something in the specs?
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    It's what the PHD lacks that improves it. Less on board processing, the modular inputs, much, much slimmer profile, native res on digital if you don't get bothered by frame rate conversion, or native at 50Hz on VGA. The lack of speakers, tuner, can be seen as an advantage. The fat bulge at the bottom (looks like a traditional middle aged west indian lady to me) and the STUPID place they've put the input ports leaves me speechless with rage! Not a screen for wall mounting, the PV500, it's far too much hassle. It takes about an hour, and all the skin off your knuckles to connect it, would you like me to continue?
     
  10. foulkeg

    foulkeg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    av-sales
    42PV500 £2,270.10 (Wall mount)
    42PHD8 £2,191.38
     
  11. ddlooping

    ddlooping
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +27
    No need for a converter for component via VGA.
    You'd only need a component <-> VGA lead. ;)
     
  12. Sulis

    Sulis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1
    But it looks great just sitting on the floor :).
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Best left there, mate. Well, on it's stand anyway. Not a custom install product this one.
     
  14. pwood

    pwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +136
    I've got a PV500 and was considering the Panel version as well however patience ran out. I am impressed by the picture from freeview that this set produces and whilst I've got a decent surround set up the usefullness of a set of speakers is something that the wife likes and for casual viewing I use them as well. I've no intention of mounting on the wall so wasnt bothered about the wall mount bit and to be honest if i was going the wall mount route then the Pioneer with media box makes more sense as there is only 2 cables to the screen making future connections far less hassle plus its a darn sight lighter. For sure a scaler and panel would give the best PQ but I had to draw the line somewhere regards cost and useability.

    That all said mines being replaced as its whistles! Fortunately I purchased locally from a local dealer so customer care was something that I now am glad I factored into the purchase price.
     
  15. Sulis

    Sulis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1
    Stand? Stays up perfectly well just as it is (that big bottom does have some use)...
     
  16. sapkan

    sapkan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    can the phd8 be ordered with matchind speakers?
     
  17. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +645
    Yes.

    you would obviously need to run a stereo feed from say the rec out of your av amp to the screen too if you hook up with component.
     

Share This Page

Loading...