Panasonic 2013 Smart VIERA System Review

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by The News Bot, Mar 7, 2013.

Tags:

    1. The News Bot

      The News Bot
      News Supplying Robot

      Joined:
      Sep 15, 2004
      Messages:
      26,120
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      106
      Location:
      Cyberspace
      Ratings:
      +446
      Reviewed by Mark Hodgkinson, 7th March 2013. Panasonic has assuredly nailed it with the 2013 Smart VIERA Platform. There are some teething problems with the new Android app but, other than that, we’ve almost no other grounds for complaint. It’s everything they promised – polished, highly accessible and articulately connected. Highly Recommended.
      Read the full review...
       
    2. Effbee

      Effbee
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Mar 13, 2013
      Messages:
      15
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +1
      I will be in the market for a new smart TV, it will be a Panasonic partly due to their rave reviews but also the inclusion of the Eurosport app. I was going to wait for prices to fall for the 2012 models, specifically a TXP55VT50, but having read the review of the 2013 models - very comprehensive. I was pleased to see the phrase ' use as a PVR' because most models have two tuners, a few queries for anyone that can enlighten me......

      1) Does this mean that a Freeview channel, or even two, could be recorded to a USB3 HDD, and a 3rd Freesat channel viewed?
      2) Could recording go on while watching iPlayer, Netflix or Eurosport over the WiFi link?
      3) Would the above apply to the 2012 models as well?

      If so, why would we need a PVR at all?

      Thanks in advance
       
      Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
    3. ConcernedCayman

      ConcernedCayman
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Nov 5, 2009
      Messages:
      1
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Ratings:
      +0
      Is any of the new stuff going to be available to download to last year's TV's?
       
    4. hodg100

      hodg100
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,083
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,457
      1- No I don't believe that's possible but I'll check
      2 - Yes
      3 - No
       
    5. probedb

      probedb
      Banned

      Joined:
      Aug 20, 2003
      Messages:
      2,655
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Sheffield
      Ratings:
      +180
      Wow, only taken them 5-6 years to enable video/audio whilst you're in the EPG ;) Something my Sony DVB-T box could do well before that!

      If only I hadn't bought a new Panny TV last year :/
       
    6. musti

      musti
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 25, 2005
      Messages:
      724
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Leeds
      Ratings:
      +50
      I'd really like to know this too as I'm thinking of picking up a GT50.
       
    7. Spenser46

      Spenser46
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Apr 6, 2013
      Messages:
      1
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Ratings:
      +0
      Hi, Mark.
      you wrote "This facility requires a USB 3.0 storage device with a minimum of 160GB capacity up to a maximum of 3TB but once attached you will have access to a host of convenient features such as Timer Recording, Direct TV Recording and Pause Live TV."
      So far as I can see HDDs should only be attached to USB2, which is USB 2.0 only.
      Am I wrong?
      Thank you.
      Jochen (Bonn, Germany)
       
    8. Zealot

      Zealot
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 28, 2011
      Messages:
      229
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      22
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +24
      I also don't quite understand the mandatory request for USB 3, although I suspect that USB 2.0 can't sustain 1080p recording at a high bitrate. Although I think an e-SATA port would be more suitable, but oh well.

      Question:
      Can I get a 2013 Smart Viera TV (or even earlier) to see a shared folder in my Windows 7 Ultimate PC connected to my SuperHub, so that I can stream my movies without the need for an external hard disk?
      Swapping content the Minority Report way sounds way too old fashioned. :p
       
    9. NBrice

      NBrice
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 6, 2004
      Messages:
      1,093
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Ratings:
      +473
      Mark, does the PVR feature do Series Link please?
       
      Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
    10. NBrice

      NBrice
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 6, 2004
      Messages:
      1,093
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Ratings:
      +473
      Also, do MKVs play at their native 24p on this year's models? Last year's would force a 60hz pull down when using the internal media player.
       
    11. Zealot

      Zealot
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 28, 2011
      Messages:
      229
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      22
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +24
      So I was having a look at Panasonic's Viera apps in their website, when I realised that the Portuguese app store has 3 more Touch Pen apps than the UK app store. I kept snooping around and there are more differences accross the stores. Why is Panasonic doing this? I understand that some contents like the BBC app have to be bound to the UK because of the TV Licence law and whatnot, but what about everything else?
      And what could possibly be the excuse for Touch pen apps??? :confused:
       
    12. zAndy1

      zAndy1
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Nov 26, 2002
      Messages:
      22,870
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      5
      Trophy Points:
      163
      Ratings:
      +9,334
      Mark, I'm now the proud owner of a VT65 but I'm a bit confused about how this home screen thing is supposed to work. I've created a home screen for myself and one for my daughter and added the Skype app to both screens, I kind of assumed when I used my home screen and went into Skype it would log me into my Skype account and when my daughter used her home screen and went into Skype it would log her into her Skype account but it just seems to go into whichever Skype account was used last regardless of which home screen we're on. Do the social networking apps not have separate accounts for each persons home screen because if they don't that's a bit ridiculous really and kind of makes having individual homescreens a bit of a waste of time. Maybe it's just me but did you look into this at all or could you get clarification please?

      Thanks
       
    13. RedOctober

      RedOctober
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jan 24, 2013
      Messages:
      10
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Northern Ireland
      Ratings:
      +3
      As far as I'm aware it wil always load up the previous account.

      Have you tried logging into Skype through the browser? If it worked that way then you could bookmark the website on your home screen and allow your daughter to use the app on hers.
       
    14. RedOctober

      RedOctober
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jan 24, 2013
      Messages:
      10
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Northern Ireland
      Ratings:
      +3
      The DT65, WT65, VT65, ZT65 are the only models with dual tuners therefore they are the models that have x1 USB3.0 & x2 USB2.0
       
    15. Zealot

      Zealot
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 28, 2011
      Messages:
      229
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      22
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +24
      Even it will always load up the previous account it should NEVER load up the previous account. That's why you can create DIFFERENT home screens, for DIFFERENT people to use the applications. This is a major security and privacy failure. And I hope this doesn't happen with other apps, like Facebook or Youtube too.
       
    16. zAndy1

      zAndy1
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Nov 26, 2002
      Messages:
      22,870
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      5
      Trophy Points:
      163
      Ratings:
      +9,334
      It does, well it certainly does with Facebook, it's ridiculous like you say it's not exactly brilliant for privacy and security is it, Samsung TVs make each user login and then all their apps are specific to them, the way Panasonic are doing it is ridiculous and makes it completely unusable IMO
       
    17. Phil Hinton

      Phil Hinton
      Editor Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jan 18, 2001
      Messages:
      10,437
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      AVForums
      Ratings:
      +9,080
      I will speak to Panasonic on Tuesday and see if we can get to the bottom of how these functions are supposed to work. It could be that with third part Apps like Facebook they don't have much control over how they work, will ask.
       
    18. Pecker

      Pecker
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Dec 26, 2004
      Messages:
      22,473
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
      Ratings:
      +4,584
      A quick question.

      I understand (and I may have misunderstood) that the Sammys have ITV Player, 4OD, etc, as well as BBC iPlayer. The Panny's only appear to have the BBC.

      Do I have this right? If so, surely that's a fairly serious oversight on Panasonic's part, isn't it?

      Steve W
       
    19. Zealot

      Zealot
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 28, 2011
      Messages:
      229
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      22
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +24
      The login "memory" is often linked with cookies. Those are handled by the Viera operating system and/or its browser when applicable. When you're changing users these cookies should not be visible to the other user.
      My first impression is that these cookies are being stored in a folder called "Cookies" instead of "UserName\Cookies". This is obviously a big no no, but I don't think it would be hard or even take long to fix it.

      In any case today is Wednesday Phil, so do you have any news for us yet?
       
    20. Phil Hinton

      Phil Hinton
      Editor Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jan 18, 2001
      Messages:
      10,437
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      AVForums
      Ratings:
      +9,080
      I'm aware of what day of the week it is, just. Will update when I have something to update.
       
    21. redfishman

      redfishman
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      May 27, 2013
      Messages:
      1
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Ratings:
      +0
      Sounds like a great unit. Unfortunately it is not available in USA nor are any dual tuner or pip sets. Would this work in the USA? I would like to be able to split screen with a pc on one hdmi and satellite TV on another hdmi input.
      thanks in advance
       
    22. Rober1t

      Rober1t
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2, 2013
      Messages:
      2
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Ratings:
      +0
      I have a Panasonic TX -L42ET5E TV, which was acquired just after Christmas 2012 in Portugal, which is where I live.

      Will I be able to access the web with this, as it is not clear from the manual.

      Also, as I can access BBC Iplayer using a proxy on my laptop, can I do the same thing on the TV?
       
    23. samsel

      samsel
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2013
      Messages:
      4
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Ratings:
      +1
      Can someone confirm working mouse and keyboard for ET60?
       
    24. samsel

      samsel
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2013
      Messages:
      4
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Ratings:
      +1
      To answer to my own question I blindly tried few devices and can confirm that Logitech K230 Keyboard and Logitech M525 mouse and both working. Also managed to link both devices through D-link USB hub.

      What was not working properly was Microsoft Arc keyboard and ACME Peanut mouse.
       
    25. Miso

      Miso
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jul 20, 2013
      Messages:
      1
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Ratings:
      +0
      Guys, any clue what might be wrong here? The browser keeps on crashing each time I am opening Yahoo or Google mail. It has no problems with other webpages, like news, etc.

      Panasonic Viera 2013 E6E crashing - YouTube
       
    26. Coolgreek

      Coolgreek
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jul 24, 2013
      Messages:
      5
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Ratings:
      +1
      As an owner of this years Panasonic ET60 i know this model (ET60) does not support flash player...
      But what about their other models with the "hexa-processor" (like ft60,dt60, wt60)? Do they have "flash player" on their web browser? In the review it does say that there will be updates on that!
       
    27. next010

      next010
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      May 29, 2005
      Messages:
      10,790
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      163
      Ratings:
      +2,112
      Flash is dead, don't count on it.

      Adobe canned the entire department for Flash embedded last year or 2 years ago.

      Your better off waiting for something like Google's Chromecast as it gains traction to get internet video onto the TV.
       
    28. Zealot

      Zealot
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 28, 2011
      Messages:
      229
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      22
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +24
      Flash is dead, except it isn't. Hardly any video content on the Internet doesn't use flash to display it, so we're stuck with a smart tv that isn't allowed to show us the content we want to watch. And why?

      I can't give real evidence, but it doesn't need a lot of hard thinking to realise that the winners are the large content corporations who make custom apps like YouTube and Netflix, and the losers are independent content creators.

      Heard about those streaming pirated movies website? Or pirate live streams of a paid cable channel? We can't have you watching that on your television can we? Here, let us take it away from you just in case you can't help yourself and get ideas of playing whatever you want on your non-PC device.
       
    29. next010

      next010
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      May 29, 2005
      Messages:
      10,790
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      163
      Ratings:
      +2,112
      Your right Flash on desktop is still around but Flash embedded is dead is for a two main reasons
      1) Apple didn't support it forcing a general move to HTML5.
      2) Flash ran like crap on the low power hardware found in TV's, tablets and phones.

      The problem here is that HTML5 did not specify a DRM standard or advertising features like rollovers which is why Flash remains alive and well on the desktop, however on tablet/phone everyone switched to "apps" based off the website as a way to protect their content and avoid using public HTML5 links.

      There is an on-going battle in the web consortium about adding an optional DRM component to HTML5 standard which Netflix, Google, Microsoft want added, they seem to be moving ahead anyway despite the opposition which is a good thing as the opposition are just prolonging Flash.

      Smart TV's shouldn't have web browsers in my opinion
      1) They are a big security risk due to the poor support nature of TV manufacturers.
      2) Slow to run and awkward to use.
      3) Chromecast and display mirroring are the right way to do it, your going to have a PC/tablet/phone all of which do web browsing better and leave the TV a display.

      Hopefully Chromecast combined with HTML5 DRM finally makes net video more practical for TV's and sends Flash on it's way out a little quicker.
       
    30. haki

      haki
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Oct 9, 2013
      Messages:
      2
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Ratings:
      +1

    Share This Page

    Loading...