1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PAL Xbox + LCD Monitor + Xbox Live = Dilemma

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by JaysonG, Sep 15, 2004.

  1. JaysonG

    JaysonG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey this is my first post and like most first posts I'm in a spot of bother. I'm moving to university next week and my TV is far too big for my new room so I initially planned to get a VGA box for my Xbox and just use my basic capture card for the TV signal. But upon further research much to my dismay I discovered that MS disabled HDTV support on PAL Xboxes :censored: Why? I don't know... so I can't use the X2VGA or VD-Z3 VGA box I've heard so much good stuff about unless I mod the the Xbox, which I guess I was willing to do if that didn't render my super fast Xbox live connection absolutely useless as I wouldn't be able to have the Mod chip on while using Xbox Live.

    So what is the best alternative or way to get around this dilemma? Are there any good PAL VGA boxes is there a way to turn the chip off and still have HDTV support? Maybe a new TV card that could give me an RGB picture for the Xbox? Cause I can't think of or find anything, I need help. :lease:

    Thanks...
     
  2. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Buy a US xbox! Thats what i did to begin with. Why? Because I KNEW pal users would get shafted.

    Otherwise, im sure theres a really complicated and technical solution that will require you to do 1 million things or more.

    As far as I know, you cant get an RGB picture unless the xbox is in progressive mode.
    SO, whatever you decide to do, make sure you end up with a box that can do progressive scan so that you can conect it to a monitor.
     
  3. JaysonG

    JaysonG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    But then I'd have to rebuy all my Xbox Live games and they'll be PAL versions...

    Damn you MS... Damn you! I wouldn't have this problem if I took my Gamecube :(
     
  4. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    pretty sure you can turn the mod chip off after switching xbox to NTSC
    and then play on xbox live.
     
  5. JaysonG

    JaysonG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    But would I be able to play my Live enabled PAL games?
     
  6. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    If you were to turn off progresive scan in order to play live, you wouldnt be able to get a picture through the monitor!

    I recomend you buy a cheap (if there is such a thing) LCD TV/monitor.

    It will display the xbox through component and the PC through DVi or RGB.

    Thats what im using at the moment.

    BUT a new TV will cost more than buying a US XBox and all you games again!

    You could sell your PAL xbox and games to cut your loses.

    Im not saying you should do this coz there MAY be a solution to your dilema, I just dont have it! sorry! :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...