PAL vs. SECAM vs. NTSC

M

myself

Hi all,

I have a question if anyone can help me. It might look a bit silly but I am a newbie :)

Is PAL better than SECAM? What about NTSC? What advantages and disadvantages do they have?
I know they are video standards, are they also television standards?

Many thanks for any help.

:confused:

From an old Laserdisc FAQ:

Pictures per second
PAL:50 (requires 4.16% speed-up for 24fps film)
NTSC:59.94 (requires 2-3 pulldown duplication for 24fps film)

Total number of scanlines
PAL:625
NTSC:525

Number of lines visible (full field)
PAL:575
NTSC:485

Video bandwidth
PAL:5MHz{Note that the _broadcast_ video bandwidth is 5.5MHz in UK/Eire}
NTSC:4.2MHz

Effect of "diff gain" problem.
PAL: Immune
NTSC: Produces color errors, e.g. green faces

I'm not really sure why you are asking the question...

At last we have now got away from international TV standards, and PAL and SECAM are now becoming increasingly isolated as we receive more and more digital pictures...

On balance, PAL and SECAM pictures are much better than NTSC.

However Digital pictures are the way forward...

Well digital is the way to go but only if the digital providers i.e Sky and NTL etc sort out the bit rate and give us a constant higher rate to stop these awful blocky pictures we get on some channels. In the present climate this is unlikely IMO due to the greed of said providers so a good strong anologue signal wins the day.

Whether a picture is digital or not the same question of broadcast standard arises.

PAL digital
NTSC digital

this is the age old DVD debate.

There are pros and cons to both

Lots of issues complicate this debate.

Numbers of lines used to make up a picture

Progressive scan or not.

Pitch alteration for PAL.

Smoothness vs detail

Quality of transfer ( or in the case of broadcast digital, bitrate)

TV calibration.

and above all personal preference.