1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PAL progressive scan

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Peter Levy, Mar 17, 2002.

1. Peter Levy

Peter Levy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to home theatre and trying to put a system together. Everywhere I read talks about progressive scan and its advantages. However, from what I can see, most progressive scan equipment is biased towards NTSC and not PAL.

I am looking at the InFocus LS110 projector that handles 480p and 720p but not 575p. Does this mean that I cannot take advantage of progressive scan technology with this projector or can I purchase a 480p progressive scan DVD player with PAL/NTSC convserion and play PAL DVD's and output them in 480p format ?

2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Peter,

PAL progressive or 576p(625p) as it tends to be known is not supported by all fixed pixel devices just now as you have noted. This is because there has not been a standard for copyprotection ratified by the DVD consortium for use with this output signal. Until this happens it's difficult for DVD player manufacturers to build machines which output such a signal.

Having said that there are a few models that do and there are plenty of off board video processors that do too. Unfortunately the short sightedness of many projector and plasma manufcturers means you can't always benefit from this. It sounds like your chosen device is one of those that can't.

I believe there are a couple of DVD players from the far east that have the ability to donwscale the PAL signal to NTSC and output it progressively. I have never tested such a device though so can't comment on whether it introduces more artifacts than it fixes.