1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pal progressive on pioneer?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by mark rosser, Jan 30, 2003.

  1. mark rosser

    mark rosser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    solihull, west midlands
    Ratings:
    +65
    help needed...
    i have a pioneer 502MXE and an Arcam FMJ27, which is capable of outputing PAL PS. The problem is the pioneer doesn't seem keen on accepting it! The picture is displayed but the colour has bands washing through it. NTSC PS plays without problem. Is there an incompatibility issue with the video connections box? Any help gratefully received!:confused:
     
  2. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +665
    As far as I know, the PDA-5001 box that attaches to the back of the 502MXE is unable to handle PAL progressive.

    I have seen a report of similar problems elsewhere.

    Unfortunately I think the PDA-5001 was just too old to have PAL progressive features. It does claim to handle signals in the PAL Pro frequency range but in practice it doesn't seem to handle a PAL Pro signal.

    Unfortunately the newer PDA-5002 card is not compatible with the 502MXE :(

    Mark
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,464
    Mark

    MarkTaylors spot on - unfortunately your 502MXE wont input the PAL Progressive signal from your FMJ27.

    Pioneer (according to Pioneer Tech support) dont actually say the 503MXE will handle PAL Progressive either - the PDA-5002 video card will but its not a feature that Pioneer pushes.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  4. dgj

    dgj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a plasma screen which will display both PAL and NTSC progressive scan?
     
  5. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,560
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Hi,

    There's the Pioneer 433 and 503MXE models, the Panasonic series 5 with an RCA or BNC board, and I'm sure, quite a few more.

    Steve
     
  6. bob5

    bob5
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    west sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have recently bought a 433mxe and a marantz 4300(less than £300!)and the progressive scan works a treat!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...