PAL or RGB

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by bomber1970, Jan 15, 2008.

Tags:
  1. bomber1970

    bomber1970
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My new LCD picture is rubbish when my sky + box is set to RGB when I switch to PAL picture is much better.

    But everywhere I read tels me to make sure PAL is off and RGB is set to on.

    What am I doing wrong?? do I need new scart lead is TV scart RGB compatable??

    Please help
     
  2. vipergrm

    vipergrm
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +591
    I don't understand what you mean by PAL. This is the amount of lines displayed on the screen (576i) and doesn't relate directly to your problem. There are two options. You can choose composite or RGB. RGB is much better than composite. The chances are, you may be using a budget SCART lead. If your aim is to get better contrast and colours then I would most certainly recommend a premium SCART lead. Look no further than the QED P2105 which is probably the best SCART lead you can buy.

    You can get it here: http://www.futureshop.co.uk/qed-p2105-performance-sqart-scart-cable-05m-p-385.html

    More to the point, what kind of LCD TV do you have? It may well need calibrated.

    ;)
     
  3. bomber1970

    bomber1970
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi viper it is a LG 42 LC55

    Only got a couple days ago. Pictue is OK but thought it would look a little sharper. On sky box settings was on RGB which made screen very fuzzy when I changed settings on sky box to PAL picture improved. I dont know if i need new scart lead or my tv doesnt except RGB by scart
     
  4. Ascari

    Ascari
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    How many RGB enabled scart sockets does your TV have?

    (and do you have your Sky+ plugged into it)
     
  5. runas

    runas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    PAL stands for Phase Alternating Line which refers to the chroma modulation system, so if the Sky box describes the composite output as PAL then that is correct. PAL is not necessarily 576i based.

    runas
     
  6. bomber1970

    bomber1970
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have two AV sockets but dont know if they are RGB enabled cant find it anywhere even in manual from CD they sent.

    I thought AV1 would be set up RGB as standard is this not the case?
     
  7. vipergrm

    vipergrm
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +591
    Possibly, what is the model of your TV.
     

Share This Page

Loading...