1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PAL/NTSC & Progressive Scan

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by jimboexrad, Sep 5, 2005.

1. jimboexrad

jimboexrad

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I'm an absolute beginner both in the forum and with all the technical stuff I now seem to be faced with. I haven't recognised any of the equipment I have/wish to purchase, so I'm probably not in the same league as most on this forum. Could someone please explain a few things to me? I wanted to move from DVD Player to recorder and got a good deal on a Pioneer DVR 433H (not yet hooked up). In the manual, I see that it has a Progressive Scan capability. So I looked for a LCD TV with the same. I'm still making up my mind, when I see on your forum (if I have it right) that, if I have Region 2 DVDs (all of mine) they are played in PAL and the progressive scan doesn't work. My DVD also says Multi-region. Does that mean I can get Region 1 DVDs and play them in NTSC using the progressive scan feature? I don't know if I should ask this here, but the DVD also has component video output, scart and S Video. Which would be best please? This will make a difference on my choice of TV (agaoin, not high-end). Thanks to anyone who will plough through this and help.

2. Welwynnick

Welwynnick

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +825
    The best video quality will always come from component or RGB scart. There is little to chose between them. Just avoid s-video and especially composite wherever you can.

Remember that just because you can't output progressive PAL, doesn't mean that you can't watch it. If you have a flat panel display, that will de-interlace the video anyway. It's just that the source may do it better.