1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PAL Gamecube through Monitor

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Maelstrom, Sep 2, 2004.

1. Maelstrom

Maelstrom

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. I'm a noob when it comes to AV stuff, so I need some help getting my Gamecube running with good quality through my monitor. I bought a VGA box thinking it would be the end of my problems, but the quality through it is bad (using RGB). I looked around and read that component cables provide a much better picture and VGA boxes don't give out good pictures usually.

Next, my graphics card is a Radeon9800 pro. I know this has a DVI port on it along with VGA-out and TV-out (composite/s-video). I also know there are some Component to DVI adapters floating around the interweb. So my questions are..

1) Will connecting it to my graphics card using official Gamecube Component cables and a Component to DVI adapter give me quality as good as (or better than) TV?

2) How would I go about switching the signals from VGA and DVI if I did do this? or how would I view the Gamecube video through the monitor?

3) what Component -> DVI adapters do you people recommend for someone on a budget?

Thanks alot :D

2. andy572

andy572
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Unless you were using a 'VIVO' card, each of the three connections (DVI, VGA and 'TV') are outputs.

For a PAL Gamecube, things really aren't good. There is the option of using, as I do occasionally, a TV card with DScaler software; but a composite signal is the best that you can use. Despite the existence of the appropriate cable, s-video is disabled on the PAL revision of this console.