1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PAL Gamecube Digital Out

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Rich1978, Jun 18, 2002.

  1. Rich1978

    Rich1978
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe the answer is the instruction booklet - but that's at home and I'm not at the moment.

    I've just got a PAL Gamecube and am aware that the S-Video output on this model has been disabled, but does this mean that the Digital Out socket is also useless?

    If not, what can the Digital Video out socket be connected to? I'm looking for a way to increase the picture quality.
    The picture will be feed into my projector that can accept Data, Component and RGB through a VGA lead.

    Any suggestions appreciated.

    Thanks

    Rich
     
  2. andyk

    andyk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +165
    you can use the digital out port to output component video. There are a couple of threads about it already.

    Your other option would be to get an RGB lead and use that (that's what I have done and it is v. good, but then I don't have component in on my TV, so I didn't have much choice)
     
  3. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, RGB Scart is the way to go alright, unless you have a plasma TV then pump for the component leads. Theres also a DVI (Digital Video Interface) cable that goes into the digital out socket... But you can only get these direct from Japan. Plus its also rather useful for us NTSC Gamecube owners since you can modify these and have an RGB display...
     
  4. Rich1978

    Rich1978
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I'm going to try the component option. There seems to be something from www.lik-sang.com that fits the bill.

    Thanks for your help guys.
     
  5. John Jennings

    John Jennings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +5
    Be sure that it works on PAL machines. The video cables for the Analogue AV-out aren't compatible between NTSC/PAL. Also, FYI, the PAL gamecube doesn't do progressive output, only interlaced.
     
  6. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    The official japanese component cable does work with a pal machine as I am using one which I bought from lik-sang.

    The cable is video only connected into the digital out on the GC so you will also need the L+R audio of the composite scart pluged into the AV out.

    As John Jennings correctly says the pal GC only does interlaced component but it is very good(at least we agree on something John)
     
  7. John Jennings

    John Jennings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +5
    :D
     
  8. Oli

    Oli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    Sorry, bumping a very old thread here!

    Basically, i want to take the output from my gamecube into my TFT monitor, i know this has been asked a million times before but the only options seem to be to use a crap VGA converter box thing..

    Is it not possible to get an adapter for:
    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=76&products_id=777&

    I heard the japanese DV cables are different, but surely theres some way to go from that to DVI without much signal loss?
     
  9. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +99
    IIRC, that cable terminates with the Japanese D-input connection, and is pretty much incompatible with anything in the US or European markets. Don't know what you could do really to go into a TFT, unless it supported component input.
     
  10. Markie Boy

    Markie Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,256
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia (Originally Ireland)
    Ratings:
    +227
    Buy the component cable, buy a Freeloader disc and import NTSC games. That way you'll get Progressive Scan (480p).
     
  11. Oli

    Oli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +3
    Then i'd need a scan converter for component -> DVI, then i wouldnt be able to play my current games i presume?
     
  12. fdxd

    fdxd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup. Besides its better than RGB without progressive scan anyway. More reason to buy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...