Paint to improve brightness (gain) please

martin purnell

Novice Member
I would welcome any advice please as to how I can improve the brightness so that my wife can see the picture better. Basically, she suffers from Retinitis Pigmentosa which in Janet and John language means she has lost 95% of total vision and relies on tunnel vision out of one eye. Also just as you can have "snow blindness" so can you have night and day blindness whereby if it is too dark or too bright, she can't see anything. With this in mind, here is my problem!
As of last week, I am now the proud owner of a Sanyo PLV Z3. I came up with this idea that instead of making a screen (see the threads on making one with MDF and the Paints,Brews and Mixes...thanks for info on those) I could buy a really big canvas sheet that has already been stretched as if I was an artist ready for action! Amazingly, my idea worked! I was able to purchase a 56" wide ready made canvas frame from an Art shop (Windsor and Newton are the makers) and it was on a Buy One Get One Free offer for just over £50. The 56" wide means that I have been able to hang the frame on the fireplace wall which is exactly the same width! To me, the picture quality is excellent and hardly any DIY was needed! Also, when you have finished watching, the screen reverts to the classic White Cat In A Snowstorm painting and doesn't at all look out of place in our living room!