1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Packard Bell TV100 problem...

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by zAndy1, Mar 31, 2003.

  1. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,953
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +7,069
    Hi folks,
    Picked up one of these TV/capture cards today, great package but got a problem with it. I'm using the S-video input and have a green bar down the right hand side of the video, this is in both the FlyVideo software and also in Dscaler. Has anyone else come across this problem and if so is there a fix or have I got a duff card? I haven't tried any other inputs btw and the source is a camcorder with S-video output and the green bar isn't on the tape as it doesn't appear on the camcorder LCD screen.

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  2. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Sounds like a duff card:(
     
  3. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,953
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +7,069
    Yeah, certainly looks that way, apart from the green stripe down the right hand side everything is fine so I can't imagine it's a driver problem or anything like that. Think I'll take it back and try another one..

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  4. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,953
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +7,069
    Well....changed it for a new one tonight and the new one is exactly the same! Green stripe down the right hand side of the video. Think I need to try some different sources and see if it's the same with them all.. other than that I'm stumped!

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  5. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,953
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +7,069
    Just tried it with Sky+ downstairs on my Pioneer plasma and it's fine, dunno why the green stripe appears with the camcorder, not a major problem but I'd like to understand it! Couldn't resist the temptation to put a DVD on despite the fact I've currently only got a crappy GeForce2 MX graphics card, played Monsters inc and it looked fantastic, if it looks better with the Radeon 9500pro and DVI (of course it should do!) then I'll be extremely chuffed! Anyway panic over, for now!

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  6. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +844
    I had the exact same problem with a PCTV card at one point, and I am trying to remember the fix. You may like to try changing the pixel count, or a different driver for the card. I don't think it is a hardware problem. If that doesn't help, Dscaler has some overscan and position settings, and so you may be able to remove the bar that way (settings->Image Shift/Size adjustments).
     

Share This Page

Loading...