1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pace twin view

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Techno Freak, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. Techno Freak

    Techno Freak
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North-East
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the card slot on the twinview for?

    Can you connect this box to your sky dish and is it as a sky decoder, recording also from sky?

    Are there and HD recorders that will record sky and possibly also output DD5.1?

    Thanks.
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    1: Possible inclusion of subscription channels via the terrestrial digital system in future

    2: No

    3: Dunno
     
  3. Techno Freak

    Techno Freak
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North-East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Nigel, looks like Sky+ is the way to go, although I begrudge having to pay an extra tenner per month.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I believe D-VHS will record a dd5.1 soundtrack, there is a JVC one, have a look at the HDTV forum, more info there.
     
  5. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Subscribe to two premium packages and don't pay a tenner a month:clap:
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    True but you need Sky+ to receive it!!!
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    they've got us by the short and curlies. What happens if you have cancelled your sky+ subscription, but still got the box? Do you still get DD soundtracks? Next question, must you have a sky+ box, or will any sat box with digital out do the job, ie can you just go and get a box and get DD?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    It has to be a SKY+ box at the mo SONY STB with optical never got the software for DD. No other box HUMAX Manhattan etc can decode sky....
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    So at least it's just a software thing, there's no barrier put up by sky. So a sky+ box enables DD5.1 with or without subsciption. On programs broadcast with it of course....ie not very much.
     

Share This Page

Loading...