Pace Twin (updates)

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by pr1uk, Dec 6, 2003.

Tags:
  1. pr1uk

    pr1uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have only just got a Twin and hear people say there will be a software update before xmas,

    does anyone have a date Pace web site says nothing at all on this ?

    also for those who have had one from the launch how often have they updated the software ?

    cheers
     
  2. bluebaron

    bluebaron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Goto the freeview section on the Pace website and you'll see a message saying that the next update will be announced shortly.

    Not much help. But that's all I can find.
     
  3. RichardA

    RichardA
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DTG website shows a download slot for Pace from 13/12/03 but with no specific models mentioned.

    It's in the Retailer and Installer section at www.dtg.org.uk
     
  4. pr1uk

    pr1uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats an interesting link thank you
     
  5. pr1uk

    pr1uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    from the link given above.

    Sat 13/12/03
    Sun 15/12/03

    Twins PVR
    v1.7.55
    Repeat


    so now i know although its still not on their web update page you would have thought that they would give enough notice to owner
     
  6. bluebaron

    bluebaron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's on their website now.
     
  7. pr1uk

    pr1uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes but its not much notice if you only checked every week or so you could miss an important upgrade..
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Anyone successfully updated? Mine hasn't managed to find anything.
     
  9. Chris 1000

    Chris 1000
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Eventually got mine to upgrade (lost count of the number of times I've seen "Bad" flashing on the Twin this weekend!!). However, now the master says 1.7.55 and the slave 0.0.0 !!!! Obviously it now does not find the upgrade so I'm left with only 1 copy of the software...lets hope it doesn't get corrupted before the next download and lets hope that goes easier than this one!!!!
     
  10. shyewei

    shyewei
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +189
    Managed to update successfully - no probs at all!!!

    First upgrade and haven't really noticed any improvement in PQ at all, except a much darker start up screen. No crashes yet....but I have been away all weekend ;)

    Anyone any news on 7 day EPG or how about a full 24 EPG!!!
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    So why have I not beed able to receive an update? Been on BBC all weekend, not allowed anyone to watch anything else! No message, and manual initiation hasn't worked. Do thye maybe not broadcast from all transmitters? I get Crystal Palace here though. Any clues anyone?

    Edit. Problem solved, the other pace thread in freeview forum tells me it's a repeat, and I'm already on October software! No wonder I can't find a new version. Was pretty happy with the performance anyway.
     
  12. pr1uk

    pr1uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well after the upgrade i am more pleased with the Pace now and i could see the results of the upgrade straight away.
     
  13. Chris 1000

    Chris 1000
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here......but what a pain the upgrade was :)
     
  14. steev

    steev
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Beds, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mine didn't seem to be picking up the update, so Saturday evening I tried a suggestion from Digitalspy of pulling out the power cable for a bit. Soon as it booted up I got the update message. Took a while to download and flash the ROM.

    So now we have the wonderful interactive stuff. Haven't seen much difference otherwise.
     
  15. pr1uk

    pr1uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine upgraded ok no problem as soon as i got home i turned it on and it asked to start. apart from the text i found the guide working better and there are also some other small tweets.
     
  16. Garion

    Garion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm getting mine tomm. When will it upgrade? Is it like Microsoft upgrades, downloading as required....or have I missed it and will have to wait for another upgrade?
     
  17. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    It won't need to. The most recent upgrade was in fact a repeat of October. Any new box you get will have an october date on the software. Check this in the config. menu, and if so, you are fine. October is very good.
     
  18. pr1uk

    pr1uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the new one i bought only weeks ago still had March software and if that is the case when you buy one Garion then the answer is they upgrade every couple of months and you will have to wait.
     
  19. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    How did that happen? They are in relatively short supply, I've seen 4 bought recently, all have been on October software. Mine arrived just over a month ago, with the latest.
     
  20. pr1uk

    pr1uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the Argos ones i think have all March software or so i was told but there again they were £248 and i was lucky i only waited a couple of weeks for the upgrade.
     
  21. Garion

    Garion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +8
    Next upgrade is on 8th Jan. according to Pace tech. help line

    0870 837 8442
     
  22. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Repeat or new?
     
  23. Garion

    Garion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +8
    repeat
     
  24. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,379
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    QUOTE: The next planned software download for the Pace Twin Digital TV Recorder will take place from 10.00am on Thursday 8th January until 9.00am on Monday 12th January. This is a repeat of previous downloads and will provide access to digital teletext and interactive services.
     
  25. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,774
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +113
    Took me serveral attemps last night and then again this morning but finally succeeded.

    What should be the differences?
     
  26. cortina_mk1

    cortina_mk1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi tried to upgrade mine this morning and the flash has failed. Now the display has a blinking "bad" on it. I know it says call the pace number - but what is really the best thing to do ? What are your experiences of bad flash ?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...