1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pace Twin SDI Mod

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by lscolman, Apr 22, 2005.

  1. lscolman

    lscolman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +141
    Hi,

    That got your attention! :D

    Has anyone been successful in SDI modding a Pace Twin box, or even know if it is possible. I remember Gordon intended to ask Elliot to have a look, but I don't know what came of that.

    I'd be willing to offer my box for experimentation.

    I was going to compromise and use a V1 Sky+ for freeview instead, but I would miss the recording facility, as I don't subscribe to Sky.

    Of all the Freeview boxes I have tried (and there have been a lot), the Pace is the best, closely followed by the Netgem in my opinion, so I think the SDI has a chance of delivering a good picture.

    Anyone able to help / advise ?

    Cheers, Lee
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    i am 99% thats its not possible, the MPEG decoder is buried under a big heat sink IIRC,
     
  3. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Why don't you ask Pace - we need to keep them in the Freeview market, perhaps a mark 2 Twin would be good
     
  4. lscolman

    lscolman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +141
    Hi Martin,

    I've dropped them an e-mail to ask whether they intend to make a replacement. Good idea!

    Cheers, Lee
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    Lee: I never gave Elliot one to look at. (Sorry forgot to call you...will try tomorrow on way back up the road). If you want to find out whether it's possible I'd suggest giving it to Elliot to look at. Will probably not have an answer for a week or so as they are very busy. They have just modded a player that JVB and others said was impossible to do....so if anyone can do it Els and the boys can.

    Gordon
     
  6. newbiebie

    newbiebie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lee, did you hear back from Pace at all on this?

    Cheers.
     
  7. lscolman

    lscolman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +141
    Hi,

    I e-mailed Pace, but got no reply. Charming eh?

    Cheers, Lee
     
  8. newbiebie

    newbiebie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    :(

    I have as well now..

    Maybe if forum members here would register their interest in an SDI or HDMI/DVI Pace Twin, and we have enough say at least 10-20 potential buyers, then we can contact them again and ask them to consider the project/opportunity.

    I am definitely in :)
     
  9. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    I'm in as well I think the Twin is a great piece of kit despite the bugs
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    me too if they offer black...otherwise its an inverto....anyone opened one up?
     
  11. Pottsy

    Pottsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +6
    A while ago I thought getting my Pace SDI modded would be a great idea. But then I took an unmodified DVBT stream and bunged it onto a DVD, and played the DVD via SDI. The picture detail was slightly improved, but because it's so grotty in the first place, the extra stuff that you see is in fact the stuff you don't want to see.

    So I reckon it's better to stick with the very* slightly softer pic from RGBs. Just IMO of course!!

    *That's "very very very slightly softer"
     
  12. newbiebie

    newbiebie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Point taken Pottsy.

    Count is 3 registered interests so far. We need more..

    Who else?
     
  13. aerobic247

    aerobic247
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Kilbride/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +13
    make that four names … and counting. :)
    Who is next?
     
  14. Henry B.

    Henry B.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Count me in for any Freeview box PVR or not with any digital video out.
     
  15. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    I asked Frontniche, who do Sky and DVD SDI mods, whether it was possible to modify a Freeview box. The answer was no but they could SDI mod an old Ondigital box and could source one if required. I decided not to go ahead as none of the Ondigital boxes had optical audio out and I'd have got lip-synch problems.
     
  16. X3ELS

    X3ELS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +105
    Hi chaps

    Sorry been AWOL from AVF for a while with work stuff.... I will be happy to take a look at one of these boxes if someone can spare one for a while. I replied to your email Lee, so lets see if we can get a definitive answer on this one :thumbsup:
     
  17. lscolman

    lscolman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +141
    Hi Elliot,

    I'll take a few high res pictures of the board first and send them to you, before I release my beloved Twin...

    Can you let me have an e-mail address please?

    Cheers, Lee
     
  18. X3ELS

    X3ELS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +105
  19. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    did the pioneer not have optical out? and the Nokia SPDIF? did they give you an idea of cost?
    YEP Nokia 9850T has coax digital out..............
     
  20. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hello Horny. I believe the Pioneer did not have digital audio out. You're quite right about the Nokia and I apologise for posting wrong information. However I had one of the Nokia boxes and found it poor at picking up a weak signal (which is all I have where I live), so it wouldn't be much use. Frontniche did send me a price list but to be honest it wasn't very clear. In the end I abandoned the idea because the SDI mod which MAW is shortly going to fit to my iScan HD only has one input and I'm concerned to improve DVD performance more than Freeview, which is already pretty stunning on high-quality transmissions. Frontniche doesn't show any Freeview, or rather Ondigital, SDI mod on its website but definitely offers it. MAW - who I hope won't mind my quoting him - says they're a very well-regarded operation but somewhat pricy. I'll be interested to hear Eliot's verdict on SDI-ingFreeview boxes.
     
  21. newbiebie

    newbiebie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    All,

    I may have found what we would call a possible high-end Freeview box (no PVR) from a manufacturer in Italy called Streamtel with SDI output. It's a box aimed at the professional broadcast market so it doesnt come cheap...

    http://www.streamtel.com/streamtel/pdf/dvbr_7000.pdf

    Have requested more info, but the box it seems is likely to fetch £800-1000 :( .
    They also do it in a Satellite receiver option and with or without CAM/CI.
    I hope I'll get more details soon. If demand is strong enough among the super-enthusiasts here, maybe we can get one of our beloved retailers here to look at it for import but at this kind of price tag, I am afraid it wont be an easy sell.
     
  22. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    PVRs only I'm afraid because when I get a panel TV it will be integrated but would like a PVR with DVI

    Integrated TVs seem to be a good thing!
     

Share This Page

Loading...