1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pace twin - modification

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by SNICK, Jan 26, 2005.

Tags:
  1. SNICK

    SNICK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
    Messages:
    793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30
    Keen to know from any users, whether modding your pace (earthing both tuners) has made a significant difference to the number of crashes and failed recordings. :mad:

    I also get a mild 'herringbone' affect on screen - just wondered whether the 'mod' might fix that as well :smashin:

    finally - before I rush out and buy a soldering kit - how easy is it to do? :rolleyes:

    Thanks
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    Effect: has improved reception quality - much higher signal strength and lower bit/error rate evident WHEN BOTH TUNERS ARE TUNED TO THE SAME MUX. No effect in any other circumstances.

    No noted improvement as regards my only other fault: the box hangs during a timer recording, carries on until the disc is full. Hence no other (later) recordings. Only way to recover the box is to disconnect power, which kills off the recording that caused the problem. No improvement here at all.

    Herringbone: not likely to be the Pace box itself. How have you got it connected to the TV?
    Herringbones are typically caused by RF signal interference - it's probably happening between the Pace and the TV, not inside the Pace. Probably.

    Easy: yes, if you know how to use a soldering iron.
     
  3. Dave H

    Dave H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lots of different places!
    Ratings:
    +145
    Mines worked perfect since I did the mod, very easy to do the mod.

    Dave.
     
  4. SNICK

    SNICK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
    Messages:
    793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30
    What type of solder did you use for this purpose???
     
  5. Dave H

    Dave H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lots of different places!
    Ratings:
    +145
    I used normal solder with the flux built in took me about 20 minutes start to finish,job done.

    Dave.
     
  6. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Is there a write up with pics on this mod?
     
  7. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,683
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    I did this mod today, and thought it went quite well.
    But just got home and it failed to record - the bloody thing had crashed and I had to switch off from the mains to get it going again :mad:

    I hope the two events are unrelated...

    Apart from that there has been no 'error rates' so far...
     
  8. yetty

    yetty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Snick,

    I soldered a short length of copper braid between the 'lid' of the RF screened box and the associated phono plug 'screen'. A total of 4 lengths as there are 4 plugs connecting the 3 boxes. This definately improved my twin: signal strength and more importantly 'bit error rate' [BER] proved with less interactivity between tuners. Viewing and recordings enhanced. Sorry havent got decent digi camera.

    ADDITIONALLY: the 'springy' bent metal earth bonds between each Tuner board and the rear vertical chassis panel were intermittant, causing erroneously high BERs. Fixed by a soldering a copper braid between the 'springy' metal on each Tuner board to the chassis. (Chassis connection using solder ring tags attached to the tapped unused rear chassis hole with a M4 bolt). Again define benifit.

    Hope this helps.
     
  9. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,683
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    Yetty, that sounds interesting, I wonder if I did mine wrong... unfortunately I am afraid that I didn't really understand your explanation - I would need a picture I think :blush:

    I did my mod from this picture that I got from another forum / post, can't remember where now - hope I don't infringe any copyrights.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. yetty

    yetty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lisag,

    Apologies for my tardy response. I’ve just got a digital camera so here are some pictures re my earlier post. These mods have worked well.

    Anybody know a fix for the only problem where the BER degrades when the 2 tuners are set to the same Mux ? In my case this happens for my relatively weak ITV mux [some might argue not a great loss!] Any known fixes ?

    Rgds, Yetty
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...