1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pace Freeview box DTR-210T

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by AOD, Nov 1, 2003.

  1. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just installed one of these and thought I'd share my initial impressions.

    One thing I couldn't help noticing is how small the box is, I'll try and post up some pictures later to show just how small.

    In addition to being small, it's also quite heavy. Solidly built is what springs to mind when holding it.

    The remote, whilst not as stylish as some of the Philip Starcke efforts with certain Grundig boxes, is nicely laid out and pretty intuitive. The onscreen menus are easy on the eye and text is fast.

    A quick start guide is included for impatient types (like most of us here I guess ;) ) along with a more detailed manual.

    From taking it out of the box to watching TV, was probably less than 3 minutes.

    One minor issue, despite what the description says on some websites, the box does not appear to output svideo. The menus give the option of either RGB or composite for output, nothing more.

    If you must have svideo, I suggest you look elsewhere. Pity, I was looking forward to getting a second one for the lounge and switching the signal (along with the digital audio) via my Tag. Oh well!

    For anybody else who would like to get one and doesn't want to wait (especially in view of the current postal situation), mine came off the shelf from John Lewis Bluewater. They had a few left on the shelf, but not many. Oh yeah, their price is £79.50 which isn't bad if you consider that buying one from some online places will set you back £75.36 by the time you include shipping.
     
  2. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds a good box, shame they dumped the Pace DVTA.
     
  3. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    As promised previously here are some pictures:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well that does look quite a good box, do you have any pics of the menus?

    I do not think the remote is as nice as Grundig one and i don't like the positioning of the yellow,red,blue and green buttons not very user friendly for interactive aplications

    No card slot and no LCD clock, typical of receivers of this build.
     
  5. Loki101

    Loki101
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where are the volume up/down buttons?
     
  6. Pod Person

    Pod Person
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Who needs them?
    There are perfectly good ones on the tv remote. :suicide:
     
  7. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'll try and get some when I have a mo.

    Having used it for a bit, I would agree with you there. I think they should have just arranged them in a horizontal line, that way you don't even have to look when pressing one of the coloured buttons.

    Still, I'm busily teaching my cheapy universal remote (which has buttons in the right layout) so I'm not too annoyed, but ergonomically, it was a bit of a faux pas on Pace's part.

    Checking the review for the original DTVA adaptor, shows that the remote looks as though it is the same one. See for yourself. http://www.homecinemachoice.com/testbench/Accessories/Pace/PaceDigitalTVAdaptor.php

    Probably one way to help keep the costs down.
     
  8. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yep, them's the ones.

    According to a post either here or on Digital Spy, the software was going to be the same or very similar which is a good thing as apparently the software on the old box was pretty reliable.

    As for these new boxes, well, only time will tell I guess.
     
  10. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see any mention of S-Video in satcure's description:

    Hmm, actually, that's a DT210F. Is that a different model from yours?

    Fman
     
  11. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes it is a different model, the new one is the DTR-210T.

    For an incorrect description, take a look at the following courtesy of Digital Direct: http://www.digitaldirectuk.com/products_moreinfo3/index.asp?product_id=2272

    They list "1 x SVHS/S-Video Connection/s" which this unit does not have, or at least if it does, it's not listed in the manual or the menus. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...