Pace DVTA noob - help please

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by browellm, Jul 30, 2002.

  1. browellm

    browellm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi all, bought the Pace today fully expecting to need an aerial upgrade.

    Plugged it in and low and behold - 26 channels found (obviously not all are FTA)

    Seems I've just missed the s/w upgrade, oh well.

    Crystal clear reception on all the ones you'd expect (75%+ strenth no errors), but then 30 minutes in to viewing, recepetion goes all blocky, lose sound etc, (checked sig strenth, fluctuating between about 60 and 70).

    Was I just very lucky in the first view minutes, or am I missing something.

    PS. E4 appeared in the list, I assume this is not FTA, I didn't get chance to try it before things went haywire.
     
  2. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only get the 21 FTA channels on mine, plus Television X. Guess I'm not picking up on the other "rogue" channels.

    You can force the s/w upgrade by going to Menu > Technical Information > Software Upgrade :)

    60-70% is still strong. You might want to try buying a digital ready RF cable to run from your aerial point to the box. May help reduce dropouts (I get a drop out once in a blue moon).
     
  3. browellm

    browellm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    I now strongly believe the problem to be related to atmospheric conditions and the time of day.

    Sorry to sound like an expert (haha) all of a sudden, but it's my understanding that if you miss the upgrade during the week it is broadcast you have to wait for the next one to "come around" as it is done on a carousel basis. I've already tried the manual forced upgrade while on a BBC channel with no joy.

    Thanks for the cable advice - I'll give it a go.
     
  4. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,905
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Not so.
     
  5. browellm

    browellm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Nope, I've had it confirmed by Pace, the update is not broadcast continously. It will be re-broadcast on 19th August.
     
  6. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,905
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Like they know, Pace CS recently informed a member he would not receive Dolby Surround through his FTA.
    The box looks for latest software from the menu too.
     
  7. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    They also started telling him about NICAM - nice going Pace. :D

    I emailed Pace once (when I first got my box) to ask them why I could not delete Television X from the channel listing (everytime you delete it, it reappears). They told me that I might be able to subscribe to it in future, but at the moment, subscriptions via DTTV and via the Pace DTVA are uncertain..... Laugh? I almost fell off the sofa :D

    Anyway, they may be right about this one though - page 25 of the manual states that software upgrades are made available for about a week. Bear in mind though, if you can't receive a decent signal without getting constant blocky images, drop outs in sound etc, you don't stand much of a chance of downloading the software anyway ;)

    By the way, check page 27 of the manual for the following problem "The picture sometimes breaks up into blocks" - it talks about changing the cable (as I suggested), but it also mentions interference from other electronics in your home. That might be worth you investigating as well. :)
     
  8. browellm

    browellm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    It was a faulty box. Got the aerial installers out, and they said the existing aerial and signal were tip top.
    He pulled a new Pace out of his van and bingo - worked perfectly again. Glad I bought mine from a local supplier now, he exchanged it straight away. Shame I had to pay £30 call out charge to find out the Pace was faulty, oh well.

    grigottsdirect: The forced s/w upgrade through the menus only works if it is being broadcast at the time. Roll on 19 August.
     
  9. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A-ha! Well you should have told us before then ;) :D
     
  10. browellm

    browellm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hey, I only found out this lunchtime, after aerial-man came round :)
     
  11. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let you off then ;)

    Glad it's all working for you now :D
     
  12. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,905
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +32
    OK.:cool:
     
  13. Tejpal

    Tejpal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    television X....hmm....i wounder if you get the free veiws....
     
  14. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Before the Pace software upgrade (before the 1st one, not the recent 2nd one), you got the first 10 minutes free. But not anymore.
     
  15. Tejpal

    Tejpal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    damn those upgrades :devil:
     

Share This Page

Loading...