Pace 12 Volt Box

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by patmyhead, Jun 29, 2005.

  1. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have this 12 volt sky receiver that i intend to use in a motor home
    would i have to use some kind of voltage Stabiliser to stop a voltage surge?if so what do i need to get.
    at the moment the pace connects direct from the ciggy socket
    with no in line fuse
    any suggestions


    Pat
     
  2. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Pat,

    You shouldn't need anything other than an in-line fuse. Try a 2 Amp.

    A. Dork
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    An inline fuse only should be OK, as long as you never use it with the engine running or the battery on charge, as the voltage on a 12V battery can go up to 18V with the engine running.

    If there is any chance of this happening, I would advise that you use a voltage stabiliser like the L17AR from Maplin which has 1.5, 3, 4.5, 6, 9 and 12VDC voltage settings, and is good for up to 1000mA (1 Amp).
     
  4. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Only if the voltage regulator on the alternator is faulty. :)

    Even with the engine running, the voltage shouldn't exceed 14.5V (approx.), which the Pace box will easily cope with.

    Nick's suggestion is good if you want total peace of mind though.

    A. Dork
     
  5. STOWITBELOW

    STOWITBELOW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +49
    I agree with Nicks estimate. Having spent too much time B*ggering about with cars, although not as common as 14v I've seen 17v (engine running, alternator working), and a lot more if the alternator goes faulty. I've no idea what the equipment can tolerate though. I have had one alternator fail & 'boil' a battery, but have had several fail giving low or no output. If your a worrier or the equipment's expensive buy a voltage stabilizer. Or if you've a meter just measure across the battery with a little revs to put your mind at rest. I'm tight & would just use a fuse.
     
  6. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for your input guys
    i have allready fried one pace box
    while it was switched on i connected the genny & turned the 240volt supply on this must have caused a surge i think, cos then pace gave up the ghost
    i will check out the stabiliser from maplins carnt afford another fry up

    Pat
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well, at £8.99 it's cheaper than a new pace if it fries :)
     
  8. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    had a look at the maplins gadget it has to plug into a ciggy lighter
    problem is there ain't one i have laid (if thats the right word) :D a cable to carry the 12 volt feed to the tv cupboard where it terminates in a standard 3pin square pin 4 way scocket :eek:
    any ideas on how to install the regulator in this set up

    Pat
     
  9. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You've terminated a 12V cable with a 4-way 13A socket ? That's not very safe, is it ?

    You can get panel mount and wired cigar lighter plugs. These plugs are not elegant, I know, but there's a big risk of plugging a 12V appliance into a 240V socket if you fit them with 13A plugs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...