1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P910i VODAPHONE model (any differences)

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by Oasis-GasPanic, Dec 21, 2004.

  1. Oasis-GasPanic

    Oasis-GasPanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South West London
    Ratings:
    +5
    I remember reading somewhere that the vodaphone branded K700i had loads of features removed for whatever reason :thumbsdow and was hoping someone could tell me if this was the case with the P910i or is it identical as the sim-free model?

    Cheers.
     
  2. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Vodafone have a habit of killing some mobiles with their live stuff. Fortuantely the Vodafone P910i hasn't had all that messing.

    There is a vodafone logo on power on and the default settings will connect to their web stuff (but obviously you can change these to your providers). There is also a Vodafone theme you can select.

    Otherwise it is the same as an unbranded model.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  3. woody67

    woody67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    Do Vodafone still put that irritating "Hello, how are you" start-up message on their phones - which you can't get rid of?
     
  4. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Yes. But I practically never turn my phone off so don't really notice it. Luckily on the P910 that is all they do.

    Most phones can be flashed and branding removed if you know the right people.
     
  5. dood

    dood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hobart
    Ratings:
    +38
    Does anyone know if it is a complicated procedure to unlock a p910?
     
  6. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    It is easy enough, you basically download a bit of software and run it.

    You do however need the correct cableto attach your SE phone to the PC. This is not supplied with the phone.

    Any of the sites that offer this remote unlock service will sell you a cable.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  7. WelshRob

    WelshRob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mid Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Vodaphone branded mobiles also "lock" the wap or MMS settings on the phone as well. Whilst I have managed to get around this and can load WAP via O2, I cannot send or receive MMS messages as the phone simply will not accept settings sent to the phone - it says the file is read only. Apparently, some companies now offer P910i de-branding as well as unlocking, but they do charge around £20-£30 for this! I bought an unlock cable but am waiting for a dealer to upgrade their de-branding server so I can have a go myself. Far cheaper.
    If anyone knows of a UK based company that has server software to do this already (via cable), could they let me know please?
    Thanks :smoke:
     
  8. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    The only remote unlocking server that is guaranteed to work with the P910i is TotalServer. I was talking to the DaVinci guys and they couldn't guarantee that their server could unlock my particular phone (originally from Orange)

    Can buy a credit for £8 (1 credit needed to unlock)

    I got my service cable for £8.50 yesterday, got the credit, followed the instructions and had one unlocked phone 2 mins later :)

    If anyone is going to unlock their P910i, goto the Sony Ericsson website FIRST and do the firmware update thing. Got to do this FIRST cause it re-applies the phone lock!!!
     
  9. jkdas

    jkdas
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got a new P910 last week locked to voda :(( . I some sites that said I can unlock the phone ( and de-brand) via the t-27 cable (?) . I got the USB cable with my phone and I wanted to know if I could do the unlocking process via the USB docking station .

    cheers
    jkdas
     
  10. jkdas

    jkdas
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So today I got my P910i unlocked and unbranded. My P910 was locked and branded for voda. 30min job for 25pounds . Not bad.

    cheers
    jkdas
     
  11. Pidsley

    Pidsley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    CAn the phones user device lock code me bypassed?
     

Share This Page

Loading...