P7 On or Off

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by docsmith2k1, May 6, 2007.

Tags:
  1. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    A simple question, I have just bought the rather lovely AV9/P7 combination:thumbsup: and having never owned a pre-power combination before I wondered whether the P7 should be switched off after use or left on all the time, as there doesn't seem to be a standby mode.

    Andy
     
  2. radio

    radio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +5
    I was about to post something to that extent.

    Whether arcam recommends or arcamites recommend thier amps/recievers to be left on all the time or turned off...

    from seperate communities they recommend most amps to be left on 24/7... also some manufacturers also recommend thier amps be left on all the time.

    so in essense i want to know as well... if arcam amps/recievers should be left on all the time.

    thanx
     
  3. DJBlade

    DJBlade
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Halifax
    Ratings:
    +182
    You need a Mini Jack cable, link the AV9 and P7 together (using the trigger connections), then, when you power the AV9 up or down, the P7 will also power up or down, if i'm going to do some serious viewing or listening i.e. a big movie night, i usually power up an hour before watching, to ensure everythings up to temperature.
     
  4. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks DJBlade - you learn something every day.:smashin:
    Andy.
     
  5. TheLastHero

    TheLastHero
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I turn my amp on it's because it's brand new.
    I turn it off when it's replaced by another amp or I'm moving to another house.
     
  6. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yes, I have heard this before - but is there any logic in this, or is there any danger in leaving the amp on all the time, is there any significant costs involved in keeping it on all the time.

    Andy
     
  7. Harbornebloke

    Harbornebloke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +11
    Leaving the amp (or any other component) on all the time will mean that it will always be at operating temperature and will therefore sound at its best. Obviously this will use up electricity all the time and will cost more as a result but only pennies per day depending upon what kit you have. However those with an environmental conscience will turn it all off and only power up a short while before listening.

    I have an A32, P35, P25, P25/3 and AVR300 all linked with mini jack cables and they all turn on and off together at the press of a button.
     
  8. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks Phil,

    I have just purchased a mini jack from Currys and now my av9/p7 power on and off together - so I will probably go the environmentalist route and power down between uses.:thumbsup:
     
  9. Clem_Dye

    Clem_Dye
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +587
    There have been some previous posts about Arcam kit getting zapped if left on when a power cut hits - I seem to recall someone loosing an AV9 as a consequence.

    I prefer to switch my AV9 and Rotel power amp. on and off when I need to use them, rather than leaving the AV9 in standby and relying on the trigger cable. Having lost stuff before because of power cuts I'd rather use the kit this way. It may not be ideal, but once bitten so to speak.

    HTH


    Clem
     
  10. Fidelio

    Fidelio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    Firstly the P7 manual does say to turn off the power if not to be used for a while. So it does have a standby mode.

    A reviewer once blew his speaker drive units once during the night. A local voltage spike did the damage.

    Isn't there a fire risk leaving power amps on all the time. I certainly wouldn't want to leave a 3KW amp on without me being in the house.

    Fidelio
     

Share This Page

Loading...