1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P+ 9617- tinted picture

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Nyquil Driver, Dec 30, 2002.

1. Nyquil Driver

Nyquil Driver
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just posted in the vertical bars poll/thread that I can also see the problem on my 28pw9617. Although I only discovered this after attempting to rectify a completely different problem (It's a long story so I'll try to cut-it-down as much as I can):-

While watching a DVD a few weeks back, I noticed that the picture seemed a bit more washed-out than usual (as it was a film I'd watched before). I checked my TV settings were okay, which they were, so I assumed the scart-lead was to blame. After checking that it was connected fully at both ends I studied the picture again but noticed no improvement. So in the end I bought a new lead in the hope that it would solve the problem (I have another DVD player which passes through my DVDR, so a decent connection is crucial).

The new lead made no difference whatsoever though (even Shrek looked a bit bland), so I took a guess that my DVDR's scart connection was damaged somehow. That assumption is what made me totally re-arrange my set-up... The 980 DVDR was moved to the side S-video socket and my other DVD player was plugged directly into the RGB scart socket... Other than the addition of vertical bars though (see other thread!), the 980's image didn't alter much at all. Plus, the DVD player now plugged directly into the scart socket showed the same dull image as the DVDR. I've now noticed that everything else (tuner/gamecube etc) exhibits a similarly drab effect (although it does seem worse with DVD's), so obviously something dodgy has happened to my P+ set!.