1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OWL electric screen

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by (GTV)Chris, Aug 31, 2002.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have an OWL 8ft electric screen...not yet installed (still waiting for garage conversion)
    It came with a switch and a length of cable....
    I am no electrician. Can someone offer any advice on how the heck it's put together?? It came with a really poor little diagram and I'm afraid I may damage it if done incorrectly.

    Best


    Chris
     
  2. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Chris,

    I used the bottom of the two diagrams when I did mine originally.

    The cores from the screen are quite self explanatary except the earth which should be connected into some 3amp terminal strip ("chocky block"). When you strip the cables back though, strip them far enough so that when you can cut the blue, you can cut a bit off to give you a bit left over to link the bottom and top of the switch. If you are using a flex with a plug on it then connect the earth to the "chocky block" and the blue and brown to the centre terminals, it doesnt matter which way round because all it effects is the orientation of the switch.

    Does this help???

    I have now replace this with a contacter which IR control for under £50. Bit better than what Owl wanted.;)
     
  3. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    switch wire up or down x1 x2 neutrals



    live from mains x3 x4



    switch wire up or down x5 x6 earths


    Get the idea, cant remember the colours of the cables for up and down, but this should get you started. Dont bother with choccy block or linking. The terminals are only my numbering but at least you can see the shape, it doesnt matter which way round you hold it, as long as you follow the pattern. Yes I am a sparky.
     
  4. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thank you both for that.

    I will try it out.

    The IR thing sounded good. Does this make the screen go up and down like the 200 quid remote that owl wanted :)
    Where do you get it from?

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  5. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I dont know, only in that I haven't seen the Owl remote but yes id does make the screen go up and down. :cool:

    To carry out the conversion first off we used a "double pole changeover relay". The way this works is that when voltage is applied it drops the screen down and stops at the autostop position. There it stays untill the voltage is removed and it returns to the up position. It does however mean that you cannot stop the screen part way down. With this relay it means that you can use a normal light switch to control the screen. (How mine is currently). Next I have purchased a single channell IR receiver and remote control,( the one I got was a Velleman kit from CPC which I am waiting for my brother to assemble:( ). This gives me on and off ir remote contol to teach my Pronto.

    If you are interested I can post part no's.

    Cheers
     
  6. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Yes please, part no.s would be helpful (and some idea as to where you got them from)..sounds like it could be applicable to other electric screens too.

    Regards
     
  7. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    Ahhgg!! its moved the centre terminals out of position on the page. Did you understand the layout ?.

    I was thinking about building a remote using a radio control, I used to install a remote link between garage and house for burglar alarms. I used to supply a remote panic button for the same system. Could use a intelligent relay to control it ( sort of small plc ) this would allow stops on descent and ascent.

    Have to give it a bit more thought, but should be easy enough.
     
  8. PFM

    PFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2000
    Messages:
    451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Barton Upon Humber
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi folks

    Could you post the details of the IR system on this thread?

    I'm about to install an electric screen for my HC setup and I've just started to look into the differing methods of screen control.

    Plus I've got a pronto so IR is I think the way forward.

    Thanks :D
     
  9. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,743
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +107
    The Owl remote control uses Radio Frequencies (RF). Because RF passes through walls the box can be hidden out of sight, say in the ceiling space.

    Regards
     
  10. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    PFM

    Is that quote from an eastwood film....I'm sure I know it..I should know it....is he in a bath tub? Good the bad....
     
  11. PFM

    PFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2000
    Messages:
    451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Barton Upon Humber
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yeah Its the scene in the bathtub!

    (where the gun is under the water):D

    PS. Could I use one of these futronix controllers to control the screen (via IR)?
     
  12. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
    Keene Electronics have made me a prototype gizmo to allow me to use X10 to switch my owl screen up and down via IR or RF.
    Havent had chance to test it yet, but will post results if anybody's interested. I think it will also allow a simple lightswitch control also. Are there many out there who want this sort of thing?
     
  13. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi Guys,

    For all of you that wanted the part numbers of the bits I got from CPC here thay are.

    K6713 1 Channel IR Receiver £19.16 + VAT
    K6710 15 Channel Transmitter £33.72 + VAT

    I also bought this dimmer switch which also works off of the remote above. The remote can then be learn't into a Pronto etc for complete integration.

    K6710 IR remote conrolled dimmer £24.45 + VAT

    Please remember that all of the above are kits that require assembly ie soldering the pcb's etc. Hence why I am still waiting for my brother to finish them:rolleyes:

    The control relay we used was this

    http://www.sea.siemens.com/contrlbu/upld/files/p603.pdf

    one. A little over the top this particular application but at least it will never burn out ;) , and it was free :D as he already had it available.

    Hope this helps.

    Incedently, yes you could in theory use the above relay/contactor in conjunction with an IR conrolled dimmer switch which has "full on-full off" capability, such as the futronix ones mentioned. It would also most likly work with a similar dimmer without the relay but you stand a chance of over-loading and burning out the dimmer switch.
     

Share This Page

Loading...