1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overheating Athlon

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by minimivic, Jun 28, 2001.

  1. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    Need help with a locking up problem on 1Ghz athlon, asus A7v board, 128 meg ram, Win ME.
    The PC locks up during heavy aplications, temp is 32c M/B and 52c Chip. Do you think this is an overheating problem or something else?
    I thought it might be Ram related?
    Any ideas anyone, There are loads of coolers in the case and the temp doesnt vary past the figures quoted.
    Its starting to anoy me :(
     
  2. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +170
    Sharky,

    If the chip has a decent cooling fan on it I'd start looking elsewhere in your setup.

    Has it always locked up or has it just started recently after installing something new? You could also try installing the very latest drivers for soundcard, video card, new Bios for the motherboard, etc. I'd also look to see if removing things like the soundcard and modem stopped the freezes.

    This sounds like a softwrae or hardware conflict rather than an overheating problem - most chips can run fairly hot these days but all of them need some sort of active (fan & heatsink) cooling directly on the chip.

    However, I had something similar a while back which I only cured by changing the motherboard.

    The joys of a PC! Hope this helps,
    Paul
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The PC should still be stable at those temperatures. Is it a permanent lockup that requires a reboot or more of a heavy stutter? I doubt that memory is at fault, with faulty memory you tend to get more application failures, gpf's etc rather than lockups.

    Jeff
     
  4. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks for you views.

    The chip has a High performance cooler, I've tried different ones but the temp is always within a degree or 2.
    We have all the latest drivers and Bios.
    Tried a reformat, still no better.
    Tried removing all unnessesary items and using different sound card etc.
    When it locks its reboot time.
    Different Motherboard is the only thing we haven't tried.
    I would like to think M/B is not the problem but who knows.

    HTPC's who needs then anyway?
     
  5. GaryG

    GaryG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried loading the BIOS Fail Safe Defaults?

    How about running the memory at 100mhz instead of 133?
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    I've got an Asus A7v Athlon 900MHz 512M pc133 and asus V7700 deluxe 32M Geforce2 running under W2K

    Biggest initial problem I had was lock ups with recursing sound whenever the PC attempted anything using openGL ( ie most 3D).

    Finally fixed it after trying every concievable patch by flashing the firmware on the MOBO (1007 I think) and using the latest Via 4in1 driver (4in1428b currently) and by changing the driving values for the AGP slot in the MOBO bios. http://www.littlewhitedog.com/images/news/Spot_02_21_2001b.jpg

    don't know if it will help.
     
  7. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    Still got the same problem.
    It appears to go away when the sound card is removed from the system ( Guiliemont Fortissimo ). I have the latest drivers, etc.
    The PC used to be stable 24/7 with this card but now under certain conditions it locks. It does appear to be game related so could be 3D problem. Latest Open GL is installed, direct X8 also installed. I'll have to try another sound card if this fails.
     
  8. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    what slot is the soundcard in?

    I seem to remember using a certain slot fro a sound card on this mobo can cause problems. ( 2 I think) Try swapping it orund ( don't use slot1 though as its overidden by the AGP slot )
     
  9. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    Mr D

    I think I have sussed it out.
    The I/O voltage as standard is 3.5V should be 3.3V changed the settings and I cant get it to lock up.
    Long shot but it seems to be working.
     
  10. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    cool
     

Share This Page

Loading...