Outputs from STBs

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by eeper, Sep 16, 2003.

  1. eeper

    eeper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    What audio/video outputs should I be looking for/expect in an STB? I'm currently choosing between ntl and Sky+ and would like to link them all into my amp and funky new LCD display (when I get it)

    Cheers
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well Sky+ has S-video most amps will switch this or use an RGB>YUV converter for component switching if your amp will handle this. Both output RGB.
     
  3. cynicaltaf

    cynicaltaf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    NTL digital STB's tend to have either s-video or RGB outputs, as well as Composite, depending on the box version available when they install it. You could try specifying that you require a specific version when you order.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    depends on the ntl region as too which boxes are available some regions only use one type of box Cardiff only use 4000 boxes.
     
  5. eeper

    eeper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks guys,

    Do either of these providers output in 5.1? If so, can I link this thru my amp?
     
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Only Sky+ boxes output 5.1
    This can be connected to any AV receiver with a digital (optical I think) input spare.

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...