1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Out of Sync!!!!

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Mr Yakimoto, May 21, 2005.

  1. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    Does anyone else have the same problem???

    It seems that I have to keep changing the level of sync from one film to another and is really getting tedious now. It only started when I got a 100hz tv.

    Any suggetions?...................apart from getting a new tv.
     
  2. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Never had any problems myself with AV32R and FLR. Even when using my universal Pioneer.

    What display are you using?
     
  3. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    I have a Sony 36"CRT 100hz

     
  4. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Strange indeed!

    I have a Panasonic 32" 100Hz CRT. Anyone any ideas?
     
  5. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    Are all your settings set to zero?

    I have kept the lip sybc at zero and changed the following to rthese settings to match most films but find I may have to adjust by 10 to 20 either way, depending on how the sync is going while watching a film.

    NTSC Latency 60ms
    PAL Latency 70ms

    As you can appreciate, its wearing a bit thin keep changing the settings while watching a film.

     
  6. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Yes set to zero!
     
  7. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    I have quite a lot in my video chain but no sync problems; DVD32-1m TMA cables-Lumagen HDP-6m Belden RGBHV-Barco 808. To be honest I have never had lip sync problems and I have owned CRT televisions, A LCD PJ fed straight from the DVD, and LCD PJ fed through a scaler and the current set up :confused: Just leave everything at zero in my opinion :)
     
  8. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    Problem is, if I leave at zero then the sync is way way out!

     
  9. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Does it change when you switch between NTSC and PAL? :)
     
  10. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    I'll test it again to see if that is the common denomitor, thing is, most of the films I watch are PAL.



     
  11. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    Doesnt seem to happen when switching between an R1 NTSC Disc and R" PAL Disc. It seems to be whatever disc I am watching at the time..ie Snatch R2 needs more latency than Oceans 11 R2.

    The same also goes for R1....Scratch "all the way Live" needs alot of Latency compared to The Hitcher.

    I think I am doomed.

    If helps at all, the Model Sony I have is KV-36HQ100.
     
  12. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ok, Test results show that if I plug a dvd player straight into the TV, everything is fine. If going through the 32r then it goes tits up.

    Thing is, I never had a problem going through the 32r when I had a bog standard 50hz tv!!!

    It seems that the 32r doesnt like connecting to 100hz tvs.

    Is my set up incorrect?

    Help :confused:
     
  13. Joelc

    Joelc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5

    The problem is the Lumagen Video Processor...

    When you connect to the staright to the TV one would expect no lip sync problem becase there is "no additional" video processing and hence no lip sync issues.

    When you introduce the Lumagen...the problems start. If you do not believe me try connnecting DVD --> Processor --> TV. I bet that you will have no issues.

    The issue...at least based on what you gave us and from 5,000 miles away...appears to be that the Lumagen is creating inconsistent delay times. To confirm try the above test...if there are no sync problems then look to Lumagen.

    Hope that helps.

    Joel


    PS. After all the trouble shooting I am begiining to think that less complex and less expensive kit may be the way to go...no one with a Denon 3910 + Denon 5805, as examples, ever had the problems that we are having!
     
  14. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    Thanks for the help but I dont have a ...Lumagen.

    I have DVDflr to 32r via Svid & Bitsream/32r to tv via SVid.

     
  15. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Mr Y

    My FLR goes into my 32R via S-Vid/Co-ax digi and then from 32R to 100Hz CRT via S-Vid too!
     
  16. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    Do I have a faulty machine then, as it cant cope withe a........TV :suicide:
     
  17. roversd1

    roversd1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the 28" version of your telly and found that if you go into the TV menu and switch off all of the picture modes such as 'noise reduction' and so on, you should find that the sync will get better.

    The more processing that the TV does to the picture, the more lip sync adjustment you will need.

    It does not help that lip-sync varies from disk to disk, regardless of display types.

    Unfortunately, I found that I needed lip-sync adjustment even on Freeveiw broadcasts.

    Remember that you DVD player has no idea what it is connected to display wise so its a bit unfair to blame the player.

    To get it's 100Hz picture, your Sony telly has its on progressive scan system which will delay the TV picture by a few milli seconds. It will also have to convert the S-Video signal into RGB.
     
  18. hoosterw

    hoosterw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in NL near Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the lipsync in the AV192 (with marantz VP12) set at +50ms and still have to adjust for different DVD's.

    I even find that some times TV broadcastings have faulty lipsync as well.

    Rgds Hans
     
  19. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    Thanks guys for pointing that out, makes more sense :lesson:

    Do you know what the differance is then between the Latency Adjustments and Lip Sync Adjustments.

    Cheers

    Mr Y
     
  20. dvdviewer

    dvdviewer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem as Mr Yakimoto. Lip sync varies wildly from dvd to dvd (all PAL). Also sometimes tv broadcasts have problems, although this is less of a problem.

    I have an AV32R DP, DVD 32£ with PSM module and a 100x5R. My screen is a Panasonic 42" plasma.

    As the lip sync varies even on broadcast material, it seems that the inconsistency is mainly a source material issue. However, the amount of video processing must also be an issue and I wonder if some material requires more processing than others.

    One problem is that it has now become a bit of an obsession to spot and correct lip sync. I also find I notice it on other peoples' equipment even sometimes on normal broadcast material on conventional crt tvs.
     
  21. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +27
    Actually, thinking about it, I have used another dvd player (with dac on board) connected to the tv with no problems whatsoever. Me thinks that there has got to be some sort of compatability issues between monitor and Tag gear.

    More Testing to be done.

     

Share This Page

Loading...