1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OSD - how do I get it?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Ian Carter, May 18, 2004.

  1. Ian Carter

    Ian Carter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +3
    Being a bit thick here. Just got A Denon 1804 and reading the manual it says that setup can be carried out on the TV screen - trouble is it doesn't say - or I can't see where it says - how to connect the Amp & TV together.

    Thanks
     
  2. Rolo Tomasi

    Rolo Tomasi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    On the back of your amp' there should be a single phono socket marked 'monitor' or something like that. If you connect this to a composite input ie a single phono point on your tv or vcr then you should get the OSD on your tv.
     
  3. Ian Carter

    Ian Carter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks Rollo - Does it have to be a special cable - or would any old lead do. What I'm getting at is would an old phono lead do or does it have to be a video cable. I'm guessing the qulity won't matter if its just for setup purposes. I see the amp & tv have S-video connectors - these would be over the top for this use, yes?
     
  4. balders

    balders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    I think any old phono lead will do for setup. To be honest though, it's just as easy to setup using the display on the front of the 1804. The OSD doesn't give you any additional information, it's just thats it's bigger and you can see several setup parameters on the screen at the same time.

    Balders.
     
  5. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Most TV's seem to have a set of phono inputs on the front for the connection of a camcorder and a single phono cable from the monitor out connector on the amp to the video in phono on the front of the TV will do.

    Another method is to use a cable with a yellow video phono plug on one end and a scart plug on the other.

    You need to read your manual to see whether the OSD signal is available via the s-video out socket and if it is that socket could also be used.
     
  6. Ian Carter

    Ian Carter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks chaps -just didn't want to blow anything up by putting the wrong sort of cable in the hole.
     

Share This Page

Loading...