OS 4.2.1 WIFI Issues

Discussion in 'iPad Forum' started by drunken max, Nov 28, 2010.

Tags:
  1. drunken max

    drunken max
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lymm
    Ratings:
    +7
    Ever since updating I'm having wifi issues. It's not clear cut but my signal has declined and also sometimes the browser doesn't work even when it says there's a signal.... And then after a while it connects.. Sometimes. Then whole Internet connection quality has declined remarkably. I've never had problems like this before... Maybe it's the cold weather? Anyone else noticed a problem? Apologies if this has already been posted but I didn't see it.
     
  2. chukwe

    chukwe
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Welling, Kent
    Ratings:
    +465
    Have you done a Network Reset?
     
  3. drunken max

    drunken max
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lymm
    Ratings:
    +7
    Apologies for the double post. See?

    No I haven't. Why would that help? It's the same network as the day before the upgrade. I will though just in case. Thanks.
     
  4. chukwe

    chukwe
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Welling, Kent
    Ratings:
    +465
    The first thing to do is network reset. It might solve the problem, but until you try it, you'll never know
     
  5. Stiggy

    Stiggy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sandy Heath
    Ratings:
    +1,043
    What do you mean by 'network reset'?

    Do you mean just reboot the wireless access point?
     
  6. WalkInMyShoes

    WalkInMyShoes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +78
    I'm having a similar problem on my own router, signal is poor but at my girlfriends it's strong. I haven't done a router reset on either????
     
  7. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    Try changing the channel on your router
     
  8. Andrew Mogford

    Andrew Mogford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,936
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +146
    It's an iPad problem as far as I'm concerned. Never had a problem until I updated, now my wi-fi is awful. Often get no connection at all. Other wi-fi enabled devices in the houwse (including iPhone 4) have no problems.

    I am quite angry about it but presuming they will fix it.
     
  9. drunken max

    drunken max
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lymm
    Ratings:
    +7
    They obviously didn't fix the wifi problem that delayed release, not properly anyway. Quality is no longer an apple watchword.

    I've also noticed that a lot of websites reload when you switch to them unnecessarily. Whilst writing this, I also had just read engadget.com. I can't switch back without it reloading, which is problematic with the crappy wifi
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  10. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,057
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +202
    agree - i'm having wifi degradation on my iPad and iPhone4 since upgrading to 4.2.1
    iphone 3GS on 4.1 not affected
     
  11. drunken max

    drunken max
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lymm
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'm also experiencing occasional resets of the iPad. Is it possible to revert back to the previous version? On top of this, my iTunes account has frozen because it wont let me verify my settings anymore, different unrelated problem caused by new Touch. So frustrated.
     
  12. chukwe

    chukwe
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Welling, Kent
    Ratings:
    +465
    I'm having WIFI issues on my iPad since I switched from O2 broadband to 50mb Virgin Media. I'm wondering whether it's the Virgin dlink-655 wireless router
     
  13. Computer Angel

    Computer Angel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have had the same problems with the DIR-655. I have done the Firmware update on the router and so far after 5 hours the connection has not dropped from the router.

    Don't know whether this will be the same for everyone though/
     
  14. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,057
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +202
    hmm
    wonder if thats my problem (same BB & router)
    but then it wasn't a problem before 4.1.1...?
     
  15. chukwe

    chukwe
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Welling, Kent
    Ratings:
    +465
    The WiFi issue I've with my iPad is random disconnection of my WiFi. I'm suspecting that the issue is more to do with the distance from the router to my iPad.

    The location of my Virgin router is around 6 meters away than my previous O2 router to my iPad. My Lenovo T500 laptop has never disconnected from my virgin router
     
  16. drunken max

    drunken max
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lymm
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'm on O2 and sat about 24 inches from my router.. A pretty good signal. But my iPad just keeps freezing on page loads. My notebook is not struggling. I've reset the router and the wifi on my iPad. Its too coincidental that apple pulled the update because of wifi issues before release. I'd put money on a bodged untested update.
     
  17. drunken max

    drunken max
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lymm
    Ratings:
    +7
    The apple forum has a lot of posts on this. Admittedly a lot from fan boys who won't here a bad word against apple. Anyway, one thought is that the new update keeps dropping the IP address, I'm nit sure if changing from DHCP wouldimprove this, but also it seems that the problem is associated with wireless n. This is only a theory of course but I've set my router to just wireless g now si I'll let people know how it goes.

    Just an added thing, my Daughter's 3GS has also been running like a brick since so it will be interesting to see if she sees an improvement.... I thought her eyes were less glazed than normal.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  18. chukwe

    chukwe
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Welling, Kent
    Ratings:
    +465
    It might be the wireless n as you said. My previous O2 BB used to be g, now with virgin media is wireless n
     
  19. drunken max

    drunken max
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lymm
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well I've had significantly more reliable wifi since I've set it to wireless g. So far so good
     
  20. MrSynner

    MrSynner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +83
    I'm running 4.2.1 on my Ipad -and I'm having serious Wifi problems.

    The connection gets slower and slower, until it completely stops altogether. Rebooting the ipad or the router will bring it back, but only for a short while.

    Wifi is also much slower than it was under the previous firmware, when it works, anyway (THREE HOURS to download the Sun newspaper!)

    I hope Apple fix it soon, as my ipad is nearly useless at the moment.
     
  21. drunken max

    drunken max
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lymm
    Ratings:
    +7
    Disable wireless n on your router. Mine has been very stable since.
     
  22. MrSynner

    MrSynner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +83
    I'd love to, but unfortunately my router has two wifi settings - 'n' and 'off'.
    :(
     
  23. Richard

    Richard
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,626
    How would one go about doing this?
     
  24. poppitypop

    poppitypop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +107
    I don't have any wifi issues I don't think but I have certainly noticed pages refreshing after switching tabs. This is really annoying.

    EDIT: Just remembered another problem I am having. Airprint on the ipad forgets my printer and I have to retry a couple of times before it sees it again. Not sure whether this is a wifi issue or an airprint issue though, iphone seems to remember it okay though.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
  25. drunken max

    drunken max
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lymm
    Ratings:
    +7
    O2 Forum :: View topic - How To Change Your Wireless Channel - 02 Wireless Box

    The link above is a tutorial to change channels on an O2 router. Part way through you can see a screen dump that includes Interface Type. This is a drop down box. Select b and g.

    I've just renewed with O2 (rang disconnection's and got The Works for £17). I also will get a new router which hopefully fix the issue. It seems older wireless n routers have issues. It also comes with the option to add USB storage and it appears as NAS which is a bonus. Hope this helps.
     
  26. MrSynner

    MrSynner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +83
    Had a rummage on google, and found my router (n1 vision) had a secret configuration menu. On there was an option to choose wireless g only.

    My iPad is flying again! Thanks foe the tip.
     
  27. Richard

    Richard
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,626
    Just done the same.

    No freezing and no disconnections since.

    Happy days.

    :thumbsup:
     
  28. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,151
    I'm also having the issue and it's extremely frustrating.

    This is my first ever Apple product and given all the hype about the company's quality control, it's a big let down. Apple products "just work" apparently, yeah right.

    I don't see why I have to go messing around with my router to get the iPad to work, especially as other devices utilise the 'n' frequency. Apple need to sort this out ASAP as my iPad is an expensive paperweight right now.
     
  29. Richard

    Richard
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,626
    Well after my network re set and disabling wireless n we're back to random disconnecting again.

    :(
     
  30. plant

    plant
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +63
    I am having huge problems with my ipad loading web pages this evening, I've had to dig out my macbook to use the internet!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...