Original HD Box v Latest HD Box Questions

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by PaulWilliam, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. PaulWilliam

    PaulWilliam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Is there any variant in picture and / or sound quality between the first Sky HD box that came out 11 month ago, and the latest HD box available now?

    Are there any other aspects that are different?

    Thanks

    Paul
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    It's the same box.
    There is currently only 1 Sky HD box available for the UK.

    The only changes have been to the software.
     
  3. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    which to be clear, is applied to all boxes, old or new
     
  4. Neil Watson

    Neil Watson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +78
    There maybe only one supplier (i.e. Thomson) box but there seems to be 3 different version numbers when people put up their system details, 4E3004, 4E3006 and 4E3007 (presumably id'ing a 2007 box?). The model number listed within the system details seems to vary too?

    Would suggest to me that there maybe subtle differences as current feedback suggest two different HDD's fitted to HD boxes so far.
     
  5. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,038
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    My latest (third) box is a 4E3007.
    The SKY operative I got when pairing up the card to the box said it was the first 07 box he's come across.
    Compared with the two 06 boxes before,I don't notice any difference apart it being a good bit quieter.
    Much less fan noise than the previous two.
    The HDD is still quite 'clickety scrape' in operation though.
    When recording an HD programme,for example,I get a regular ticking,almost like there's a grandfather clock in the room.
     
  6. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,682
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +332
    I got Sky HD fitted about a month ago. I'm not sure what no. it is, but it's as quiet as my old Pace Sky+ box.

    T.
     
  7. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,038
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    Press 'services' on your remote,then 'system details'.
    That'll tell ya.
     

Share This Page

Loading...