Answered Oreo on Sony Android TV - Where is Signal Diagnostics?

Discussion in 'Sony TVs Forum' started by stormy, Jul 18, 2019.

  1. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,042
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +322
    Hey,

    With Nougat you can press the home button, and click on the ? for help which allows you to access some troubleshooting options including a screen for Digital TV Signal Diagnosis.

    On Oreo I can't (I could and hopefully am, just missing it) find it for the life of me, I can get a very basic signal meter by going into Home > Settings > Digital and look into manual tuning but under Nougat the diagnostic page is much more in depth.

    Anyone know where (if) this exists with Oreo?

    Cheers,
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #2 by strutsinaction, Jul 18, 2019 (1 points)
  3. strutsinaction

    strutsinaction
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +82
    Best Answer
    Press the Help button on the remote, then Troubleshooting and System Information, then Signal Diagnostics.
     
  4. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,042
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +322
    Thank you! :)
     
  5. strutsinaction

    strutsinaction
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +82
    Coincidentally I was using this very recently to diagnose pixelation issues on some freeview channels (Sandy Heath transmitter Com78 National, BBC News HD in particular). I was getting a signal quality/level 60/48 whereas other channels were showing 100/100. I fixed this with the following signal booster:

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07G3QVQXS/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    It is powered by a USB socket at the back of the TV. Very discrete. I was sceptical it would work but I'm now getting 100/100 and no pixelation. Not bad for £10 !
     
  6. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,042
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +322
    Out of interest what power requirement does that device have, would it work for a set-top box which has a 0.5A 5V USB?
     
  7. strutsinaction

    strutsinaction
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +82

Share This Page

Loading...