1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ordering a tosh 51WH36 questions and advice

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by nero0410, Apr 24, 2004.

1. nero0410

nero0410
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,346
    I am ordering the 51" toshiba 51WH36 on either this wed or thurs and I have a couple of questions and like some advice I am ordering it form argos as it is the only place I am able to get it from due to personal circumstances.

I have read quite a lot up on this set but would like some simple straight answers as Im a noob to rear projection but not that new.

Taking into concideration that I would turn the contrast down concideribly and brightness.

(or would it be safer to play for a couple of hours then switch to normal tv or turn it off for thirty minutes or so then carry on)

1.Is it safe to play a games console on a rear projection tv? and for how long?

2.If a game had the option to turn static images off (which a fair few do now) how long would it be safe to play with no static images?

These questions keep popping into mind as a majority of films these days have black boarders due to different variations of widescreen modes and an anrage person would watch 2 films in an evening which could last up to 4-6 hours in total so I would presume that this has been taken into mind when designing a set like this.

Lastly normal tv viewing taken from two points 1.no static images 2.broardcast logos (sky) how long can the set be on per day? or on then off for a while then on again? is the set likely to over heat after say 6-8 hours viewing or could this damage the life of the set or the set in general like it could an lcd projector?

Could some people please let me know of any expierences they have about this set concerning picture, and with dvds and consoles ,xbox, ps2 and gamecube