1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Orange Broadband + PSN = drama

Discussion in 'Playstation Network PSN Forum' started by Disaveli, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. Disaveli

    Disaveli Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone,

    Ok so we recently got new broadband with Orange, we have a Netgear DGN1000sp router. I can connect to the internet fine on my computer but when it comes to connecting to PSN, the problems occur. I can't sign in to the PSN with the orange broadband, I've read everywhere that Orange and PSN just don't mix well.

    Any solutions?
     
  2. Fmrl

    Fmrl Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,189
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +409
    What's the error code on your PS3 when you try to connect? It should work if you set up a DMZ and/or allow the right ports. I'm on Orange LLU and it works fine (a bit slow/laggy but that's more than likely due to the attenuation/snr).
     
  3. Disaveli

    Disaveli Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    DLNA 7531 protocol error
     
  4. Fmrl

    Fmrl Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,189
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +409
    I thought that error was just if you couldn't connect to a local DLNA server and nothing to do with PSN :confused:

    DLNA 7531 protocol error - PlayStation Forum

    Someone on there suggested restarting the Media Server (or disable it if you don't use it). I have the Media Server permanently disabled on mine so I'm not sure if I'd get this problem too.

    What happens when you try to sign in?
     
  5. Battle

    Battle Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,936
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +707
    Im connected with orange fine. Although it did take a while to set up properly.

    Do you use the router provided by orange or a third party one? I originally had a third party one but it stopped working, Im sure that orange cut it off but I cant prove it because as soon as i started using the orange provided livebox my broadband mysteriously started working again.

    Are you connecting by Wi-fi or by ethernet cable?

    If by Ethernet cable there may be an issue. If you have a component already plugged into port one on the livebox and you plug the PS3 into port 2 then it probably wont work as for some god forsaken reason port 2 is default set up for a phone line so you have to go into the router settings and turn that off before it will work for the PS3.
     
  6. Nakatsu_Hime

    Nakatsu_Hime Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +40
    Having Orange broadband isn't necessarily a deal-breaker. I have Orange, and PSN works fine. However, I do not use the router supplied by Orange, as my D-Link router does the job.

    I've heard the routers supplied by Orange are not really first class re wLAN and PS3 connections.
     
  7. Fmrl

    Fmrl Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,189
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +409
    This might depend on what Orange give you. The Livebox can be a bit temperamental and Orange are aware of this (I retired mine and replaced it with a Netgear a couple of years ago). I think they issue customers with Netgear DGN1000 routers now instead.

    Here's their guide...

    Playstation 3 - how to set up a wireless connection to your Netgear DGN1000 wireless router | help & support | Orange UK

    (not ideal but better than nothing)
     

Share This Page

Loading...