1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optoma Themescene RD50 question

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by marts00, Nov 16, 2004.

  1. marts00

    marts00
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know whether i can watch normal tv with a reduced picture size on this tv or the Axium and then pop it out to the full 50" for movies etc.....
    Also has anyone else ordered an RD50 from HifiBitz....do you know when they will be shipping?
    Cheers
    Martin
     
  2. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi ya,i phoned HiFiBitz this afternoon and was told my RD50 would be here early next week,also when in Comets today the Sagem model was displaying a smaller picture (4.3} so i guess the Optoma can too.
    My question is what is the best way to connect my system up i have Sky+ and a Toshiba sd520e (no dvi)? thanks.
     
  3. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Martin,

    I'm sure the RD50 will show 4:3 material at full height within the 16:9 screen like most, if not all widescreen TVs.

    Dabs,

    I would connect the Sky+ by RGB Scart, and the 520 by component video.


    Steve
     
  4. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Steve
    Just ordered the leads from HiFiBitz,another £100 :(
     
  5. flexje

    flexje
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there
    I'm new at this forum.

    I have a question regarding the new Optoma RD50 as well
    I'm gonna use this TV mainly for DVD's , divx movies & series
    and HD show-off material. I play all these via my PC which is a a AMD 64 3500+ (i will use the DVI connector)

    What i want to know if, if there will be
    a audio/video out of sync issue ever. I read some about this .. did they fixed this already or can't they?

    I can get the RD50 from stassen in holland for 2891 euro
    thats quick ok deal isn't it ?

    @ Dutch are you from holland ? (/me is)
     
  6. mattross

    mattross
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I also have a question regarding its size. Hopefully someone who has one (!!!) can answer...

    In the brochure it is listed with these dimensions: 117 x 90 x 38 cm. How wide is it at the base? I'm thinking of buying an Optimum 2000 AV500 rack which is 110cm wide but with top-caps that possibly might get in the way. The rack is here [at the bottom]: http://www.optimum2000.com/av.html

    Thanks.
     
  7. rons

    rons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have a look at http://www.optomatv.com/doc/RD50_Mechanical.pdf

    Absolute maximum I can see is approx 1011mm so you should be fine, I've gone for the Ikea magiker Tv bench for mine as glass supports would mean me keeping all my cables tidy!!!

    Hope this helps
    Ron
     
  8. mattross

    mattross
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    That size would be great. Can't get that link to work, can U check it please?
     
  9. rons

    rons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The link works fine for me, but it's in pdf format so adobe acrobat or such like is required. Go to http://www.optomatv.com/Content/RD50.asp and click on the Mechanical Diagram Download link. All the details are for the American RD50 so an older/different spec but all dimensions should be identical.
     

Share This Page

Loading...