1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optoma RD50

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by philip41, Mar 17, 2005.

  1. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, does anyone who ownsone of the above, live near Worthing Sussex, do not mind traveling to see one, that would be willing to let me see their set in operation, or at the very least tell me somewhere that sells them down this end of the world.

    Thanks
     
  2. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Ask Steve he might know, if not phone optoma and ask where you can demo the set.
     
  3. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think mine in Birmingham maybe a bit far but if you want to PM me
    Give Liam @ Prog AVwww.progressive-av.com/projectors/optoma_themescene_rd50_rear-projection-television_rptv_home_cinema.htm a try

    he's in speldhurst Kent near Royal Tunbridge Wells i think thats close to you

    If you want to check out his forum profile click on his name

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1502012&postcount=118

    I'd advise you to arrange to take your PC along with you to check out R1 DVD's, just have the latest drivers for your graphics card & select 1280x720 at 60hrz before you set out . happy hunting. :)
     
  4. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,529
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    sussex on the coast
    Ratings:
    +1,291
    Yep phone them up direct and stop being so :censored: Ha HA :eek:
     
  5. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0

    Kenny you are a trouble maker m8, ;)

    Seriously though have already phoned Optoma, nearest is Cambridge, or there Head office in Watford.
    Liam has offered me a lift up to Watford with him, as he has got to go there anyway.
    Think i'll have to give that some serious thought.
     
  6. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,529
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    sussex on the coast
    Ratings:
    +1,291
    Is he bringing you back as well then or just taking you up yhere ?
     
  7. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think so mate, why dont you come i am sure we could leave at Service station somewhere.

    Someone down here must own 1 of these.
     
  8. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,529
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    sussex on the coast
    Ratings:
    +1,291
    Just order one mate.....If you dont like it, SEND IT BACK !!! :rolleyes:
     
  9. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0

    Oi you, Stop taking the P***.

    By the way i just got a Refund out of Comet. So i am officially in the market for another Cockup, i mean T.V.
     
  10. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,529
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    sussex on the coast
    Ratings:
    +1,291
    Thats good then mate...refunded for the telly and you still have it sitting in your lounge !!!! :thumbsup:
     
  11. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Better than Tiny.com refund policy.

    For another week. so atleast i can Watch F1 this week.
     
  12. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    I spent around 2 hours at Watford Optoma, you can negotiate directly with them. I saved some cash this way. ;)
     
  13. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    HiFi City in watford have one on show (they're open on Saturdays too)
     
  14. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498


    LOL..... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
     
  15. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    or is that a cheap wall? Hey, no offence :devil:
     
  16. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would never advocate ordering a set without a demo you would have to be pretty stupid to do that.
    I suppose if i was honest i'd have to admit :blush: but i'm not so i won't

    I was very lucky with mine as the only problem is the :r1: problem that is cured with a PC.If you do get a demo arrange to take a PC & Xbox with you
    to check it out for yourself.
    Prepare your PC before you go latest graphics card drivers & download a demo of Windvd6 before you go & any high def material you want to watch.
    Select 1280X720 at 60 hrz & take a DVI lead if you have one but VGA will do
    maybe a power lead,add a selection of R1 & R2 DVD's and you are all set it only takes about a minute to connect the PC to the RD50 on the RD50's menu under setup select Data & change to PC
    A good DVD to take to see the RD50 at its worst is the Abyss the underwater scenes suffer a lot from banding.
    My favourites so far for best picture are Gladiator R1 Lord of the Rings R2
    Fast & Furious R2 Starship Troopers R2
    Check they have a TV feed of some sort.
    From what i have seen of the other sets so far the worst fault is how skin tones in faces come over a face should look as good on a DLP set as on a good CRT set & that is with any source, you have to make some allowance for a poor source program with Sky Telewest or broadcast TV but most of the time it should be as good or close to it. :cool:
    Football & Rugby is nearly allways pretty poor compared to a CRT telly. :(
     
  17. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys i am off to Watford,HiFi Bits tomorrow, according to the AA it should only take me just under 2 hours.
     
  18. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    Philip, HiFi City are in the square between Woolworths, Argos and the Harlequin centre, Ask for Chris (another Chris) he's a good bloke.
     
  19. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for that Chris, are there any other shops, with different brands to look at while i am up that way.
     
  20. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,357
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,479
    I'm really confused by this HTPC fixing the R1 stutter issue to be honest. Why can a HTPC fix it but a scaler can't? How come a HTPC outputting at 60hz just like a standalone dvd player playing an NTSC disc doesn't cause the stuttering problems? This set is interesting but to commit to having to use a HTPC is slightly worrying, as soon as the region 1 HD-DVD players come out (and I'll inevitably want one) then I presume they won't work on this? Is the stutter problem specific to SD NTSC material or does it also affect HD NTSC material?

    Cheers,
    Andy
     
  21. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I obviously do not know about the new generation of hi def DVD players as regards to R1 & NTSC only about PC software DVD playback with four different PC's the 3 Athlon PC's were fine but the Intel Pentium 3 850Mhz could play back R1 but did have a jerk every 20 secs or so but it was exactly the same with a region 2 Pal disc.
    It should be easy enough to arrange a demo with a PC to check i have never damaged a PC by transpoting it in the car.
    I would expect the PC to have a lot more processing power than any scaler you could buy & the software graphic cards updates are being improved all the time.
    The only drawback with a PC connected with DVI is a 1% overscan = 1/2 inch on either side & about 1/3 inch top & bottom. This not a fault of th RD50
    all sets have overscan.
     
  22. jackuzi

    jackuzi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey thanks for the reply on the other thread...decided to jump across to here ;) to go more on topic. Would also like to see one of these in the flesh. Anyone know anywhere in South Wales that might have one?

    Also, anyone have a best price link?

    Cheers,


    Glen
     
  23. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    They all seem to be about £1950 i don't think you will have the choice of outlets
    as some of the other sets as it's a lot less sets being sold. Try phoning Optoma on
    01923 691 800 they should be able to tell you the nearest place.
     
  24. jackuzi

    jackuzi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice one, thanks :thumbsup:
     
  25. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    Philip, JL in the Harlequin Center have a lot of plasmas on dem, and there is also a Sony centre, but that is about it.

    If you don't know Watford, then it can be tricky parking. Basically the shops are in the center of a great big traffic jam ring road, there are a lots of multi-story carparks off the ring road, just park in the first one you notice.

    Good luck, and let us know how you get on.
     
  26. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeh just did a bit of searching, and came up with them 2.
    I had a sneaky feeling it was going to be a bit on the busy side, oh well i should get there about 8.30, so hopefully it wont be to busy.

    I'll report back tomorrow sometime.
     
  27. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    Hi Philip there is also the usual retail park with Comet & currys etc off the ring road (south end of ring road) but i have never been in them.

    Also, It can be quite easy to miss HiFi City, because technically its not in the square but just off it on the path to the high street. if you get to the square and walk up to the harliquen shopping centre entrance then turn arround you should see the shop right in front of you. (hope that does not sound too complicated)
     
  28. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Complicated, no Chris, ta for the directions m8, just looked a local map, looks like there are carparks all over the place.
     
  29. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498

    Andy
    There is another forum member how has a iscan proccessor and he has got the judder down to twice and hour. Not 100% but not noticable. Much better than 1 every second which is what you normally get.

    A pc has more power and is infinetly more powerful than a proccessor could ever be. I use powerstrip to control the judder and with tweeking for weeks on end I have found the best combination for near judder free play. I hardly ever notice it now. Also a pc has the added benifit of being able to upgrade and swap out drives when new technology arives. I saw only today a claimed Blue ray and HD DVD combo drive for a pc from a large japanese electronic company. I didnt think that would happen in the av sector but I can see why they would impliment it in a pc. A pc drive will also be a fracton of the cost of a retail unit, this will only be untill the large companies have recouped their cost and the masses start buying.

    I personally love having a pc conected to my RD65, it has solved many issues and given me the added benifit of viewing HD material a full year before it is launched in the UK. There is so much HD material avialible already.

    You asked the question about HD-DVD and judder on the RD. This wont be an issue as programs like powerstrip will re-adjust your clock speed to 50Hz instead of 60Hz (actualy the magic number is ??.?? Hz :devil:). Also any overscan can be corected with powerstrip as you can create you own resolution etc...



    :smashin:
     
  30. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,357
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,479
    'This wont be an issue as programs like powerstrip will re-adjust your clock speed to 50Hz instead of 60Hz' - this is what's confusing me, Steve swears he runs his PC at 60hz refresh rate so why doesn't he get the juddering?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...