Optoma projector comparison: HD131Xe vs HD141X

Riari

Standard Member
Hi,

So after having some focus problems with my HD131Xe that rather turned out to be caused by rookie errors on my part, I jumped on one of Amazon's Black Friday deals yesterday and got an HD141X for £380. It arrived today and I've spent a few hours "calibrating" (I use the term loosely as I'm no professional) both projectors to compare picture quality.

I suppose this is a review of sorts, but mostly I just wanted to share my findings while comparing these projectors.

First of all, some notes about the setup/room:
  • Projecting onto a Lavolta 100" portable screen (80" diagonal for 16:9)
  • Distance from the screen is between 9 and 10 feet
  • Room has pale cream walls, a similarly coloured carpet and a white ceiling
  • Ambient light from the window and entrance to the room can be almost completely blocked out, but not enough to make the room pitch black during the day
I first tweaked the HD141X settings until a selection of movie stills and wallpapers looked good to my eye without sacrificing blacks/whites, then replicated those settings on the HD131Xe as closely as possible. Here's what I used on the HD141X:
  • Display mode: Vivid (User on the HD131Xe)
  • Brightness: 0
  • Contrast: 8
  • Sharpness: 15
  • Gamma: Standard
  • BrilliantColor™: 10
  • Dynamic Black: On (I've yet to notice this make any difference)
  • Color Temperature: Standard
  • Color Settings: untouched
And below are some photos comparing projections from both. I only took them with a Samsung Galaxy S4 and some tape measure to steady it, so I realise this is not a very solid comparison and pretty pointless for demonstrating sharpness, but I can say they're pretty much identical in that regard. The only real difference is in the brightness, contrast and colours - all of which I find are marginally better on the HD141X.

Left: HD131Xe, right: HD141X

9hTe6AV.jpg

Ap738M8.jpg

73LRnO5.jpg

bmaWJx9.jpg

zP8XO8y.jpg