1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optoma oriented DVD selection

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by rimibar, May 18, 2003.

1. rimibar

rimibar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

I am relatively new to this subject, so please forgive me if I appear ignorant!

I am purchasing an Optoma H50 Cinema, and will be connecting it to a Pioneer VSX-AX10i. I have a VERY limited budget to purchase a suitable DVD player - about £170.

So far I have been recommended the Toshiba SD550 and a Panasonic DVD S75. These both have component out and progressive scan.

Which of these (or other) should I be looking at?

Many thanks,

Richard

2. taimur

taimur
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your computer has a DVD player and movie software you might be better off using your computer in the mean time until you can afford a more expensive DVD player. You might have to upgrade your sound card, but you should be able to pick one up (perhaps second had) with SPDIF out which will be able to decode soundtracks for within your budget

3. rimibar

rimibar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for your response Taimur. I refuse to believe that my PC can offer a better picture than a dedicated DVD player.

Any further suggestions?

Thanks,

Richard

4. Messiah

Messiah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +339
    Hmmm. A well setup HCPC will blow most DVD players out of the water due to their ability to not only 'play' the DVD but also to process the image to match the resolution of your display device.