Optoma HD70 and borders around the picture.

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by RichKS, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. RichKS

    RichKS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +50
    Guys,

    I have a pretty new HD70 and I'm loving the colour and the picture in general.

    But I have a black border around the picture, about 12 pixels, something like 2 cm all around the outside of the picture (2 Metre wide screen). On all inputs.

    Is this normal? I can live with it, but my last PJ had no such border.
     
  2. ian494

    ian494
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    St Helens
    Ratings:
    +54
    I think it is to do with the Vertical and horizontal shift. If you have it set to zero on both, you probably won't see any border.

    I am prepared to be shot down in flames though.

    Ian
     
  3. Critters

    Critters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    One of 2 things:

    You may not have the throw to fill the screen (distance from PJ to screen) or you are not zoomed out enough.

    But more likely:

    You have the same issue I have with Sky.. it does not fill the screen and has a soft edge, the over-scan function is your friend, try increasing over-scan to see if it fixes the problem. I have sky with +1 to +2 over-scan and DVD's/Xbox have 0
     
  4. bappy

    bappy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have the same problem and do not know what to do. Please help.
    One important question though, is it effect the immage quality?


    bappy
     
  5. RichKS

    RichKS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +50
    I didn't explain very well originally.

    It's set up to project straight onto a wall. There's no screen yet. the picture with no input is 4cm bigger than when there is an input. That is the blue "no input" screen is all blue, but any input adds a black border around the image. About 12 pixels. That is, the projector's projecting black with the last 12 pixels around each edge. Overscan, horizontal & vertical shift, and masking have no effect on this, the border is always there.
     
  6. AV Nik

    AV Nik
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +100
    From Optoma:

    That's normal, it's called over scan. Depending on how the film has been recorded, you could use the over scan button to reveal the pixels. Its trial and error.

    Hope this helps?
     

Share This Page

Loading...