Optoma HD141x settings to fit 100" 16:9 screen - NEED HELP

alex281

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello AVF gurus,

I'm a newbie when it comes to projector. A month ago, I got a brand new in box Optoma HD141x and tried to set it up in my media room.
It was mounted up ceiling at 7ft high and 16ft away from the screen. When I play Blueray movies or streaming, the picture was always bigger than the screen (more like 120" fitting).
I do not really have room to move the projector back further than 16'. Is there a way I can adjust it to fit my 100" screen? Couple weeks ago, "native" format fit inside my screen but smaller (more like 80"). I'm not sure what happened but at this point, even "native" format would spread bigger my 100" screen.

Please HELP.
TIA.

I think you will need to move the projector closer to the screen, around 11 foot away from the screen to get around 100" screen size.
I used the calculator optoma have to get this figure
Optoma Projection Calculator

At 16 feet away you are looking at a 130" to 140" screen size using the zoom and focus levers on the top of the projector

Looking at the specs it does have a digital zoom in the menu somewhere making the picture upto 20% smaller but this will degrade the picture, reducing quality.

Last edited:
At the same 16' distance, it projected the same movie at 80" size 2 weeks ago. How did I go back to that size?

From my older version of Optoma projector, "native" refers to the aspect ratio. Maybe it was set to 4:3 and that's how it fit in?
I would suggest checking the top of the projector to make sure the zoom is as far back as possible and focus it, then going into the projector menu and looking at the Zoom display options and maybe using the digital zoom to decrease the size of the window to fit.

If you have done all of that and the image is still too big, i would suggest moving the projector closer to the screen and fill the holes in your ceiling.