1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OPtoma H30 V PT-AE300...please help!!!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Daithi Lacha, Feb 6, 2004.

1. Daithi Lacha

Daithi Lacha

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I need urgent Advice as I'm poised to buy a PJ with my credit card and I'm a total newbie

I have a few questions to put to anyone who may be kind enough to answer them, just before I make my decision.

Based on comments I have read on these forums, I am now trying to decide on the Panasonic PT-AE300, or the Optoma H30 (as i see websites and mags writing, "go for DLP, go for DLP!")
    However if you have a PJ and if YOU could buy one today, with a budget , say around £1000-£1300...( bearing in mind I can claim back the VAT)

Q.1: would you go for the LCD PT-AE300, (or for that matter, the Hitachi PJ-TX10 or the Epsom TW10) or go DLP with the Optoma H30?

Q.2: I have been offered a new PT-AE300 ( pixel checked) and 106" ceiling/wall (manual) screen (model:Draper Luma) for £1150 inc vat and delivery. Is this a good screen, what screen is better, and more importantly, is it a good price for both?

Q3: I will be sitting about 15 ft away from my wall which will take a 106 screen. I really want one, but I NEED a screen that big with a distance of just 15 ft?

Q4: I can't ceiling mount the PJ, so it'll have to go either behind the sofa on a stand (any height I want really) or on a coffee table in front ( about 18 inches high). Which is better and what size picture will I get from the PJ being 14 or 18 ft from the screen?

and finally, last question (as I'm starting to bore myself now...)

Q5: do good leads really make all that much of a difference and if yes, which one's work best with the PT AE300 or the Optoma H30?

Thanks for reading this!