1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optimum settings for Panasonic Plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Scotty Boy, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Good evening, I hope all is well. :)

    Got my High def Plasma yesterday, and i'm thrilled to bits with it!

    I was hoping to have a play with the settings tonight, to try and get the best picture possible.

    Had a search on the forums, but couldn't find any topics with recomendations for optimum settings.

    It's the high def panasonic if that helps, but any setting recomendations would be great!

    Thanks
    Scott
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Run it on lower contrast and brigtness for a few weeks before seeking optimum settings, they change a fair bit from new, and it's best to run it in like a new car, no foot to the floor stuff till it's got some hours on the clock. Below the zero marks, -5 to -10 for a bit.
     
  3. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hey dude.

    Cheers for the heads up on the plasma, I bought it off a guy on the forums, it'sa had a few hours on the clock, but nothing major. So I really am seeking optimum settings now. :)

    Any ideas?
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Right, if you have a star wars DVD to name but one that has this, there is a little routine on there called the THX optimiser. It's a great place to start, will get it very watchable inside 20mins. If you want more, then you buy a copy of digital video essentials, a DVD available at Amazon. It tells you all you need to know unless you want to call in a pro. calibrator. All screens differ slightly partly due to the effects of the environment on the look of the picture, but the settings you end up with are usually close to the zeros, except sharpness, get that turned down.
     
  5. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Excellent. Thanks very much. I have the Star Wars Boxset, i'll see if it's on one of those discs. Maybe the bonus disc?
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    On AOTC it was in the languages bit IIRC, perhaps someone will step in and help there, as I have DVE it's been a long time. But youll spot the THX logo when you find the right place.
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,571
    Scotty Boy

    Theirs only one way to ensure your display is set up properly and that's to have it professionally calibrated - it'll cost you £250.00 and best to have it done if your pretty sure your set-up is pretty close to 'finalised'.

    Using a set-up disc is the next best option - go to the Power Buy section and order AVIA or DVE from Piero Milani for about £30.00 - keep in mind that your display has memory banks for every 'signal' you input so you need to ensure you do PAL and NTSC separately if you really want the best set up.

    Drop me a note if you want info on calibrating.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Funny power buy, mine was £14.95
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    Perhaps Joe meant buy both. He should change or to and. Certainly that's what he appears to mean as he goes on to talk about the need to do NTSC and PAL sources seperately.

    G
     
  10. moku

    moku
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    MAW,

    Where did you get yours for £14.95? I might be interested in getting one from your source.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...