• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Optimistic but lost

Synesthesia

Novice Member
Hi Guys - I am a newbie here. I have recently bought a Samsung tv UE55F6320 and a Samsung 3d player with 5.1 HTF4500 Bluray.

The entertainment source is from:

1) TV itself - is smart with apps and all connected to wifi
2) through 3d player - playing local bluray content as well as stream apps like netflix through wifi like the tv
3) through Sky HD box

I have HDMI cables as well as 1 optical.

Sky and Bluray are connected to TV via HDMI - the bluray gives 5.1 through local play as well thorugh strean netflix etc via HDMI but the Sky doesnt. I guess the reason may be that the speakers are locally connected to the bluray. The 5.1 bluray has only 1 optical in - sky and tv have optical out - i have tried optical on both sky and tv - the tv gives 5.1 but the sky doesnt - Ihave tried different software settings all over the equipment, no luck.

What i want is - to have optical out from tv and sky into the 5.1 player maybe via a switch?? And for the 5.1 to work for both sky and tv - i can get the switch the only issue is - sky isnt working with optical as it is so that needs sorting first - once done I can look into the switch to have both connected.

Any help will be great.

Ghostrider

On the SKY HD box you need to set the Optical out to Dolby D. press Services, 0, then right to sound then select. Change Optical output to Dolby D and then green to save.

Synesthesia

Novice Member
On the SKY HD box you need to set the Optical out to Dolby D. press Services, 0, then right to sound then select. Change Optical output to Dolby D and then green to save.