1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optical Splitters Any Good?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Daglor, Jan 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daglor

Daglor
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, I've got a Kenwood Amp that has only one optical in at the back.

I would like to connect up both the X-Box and a Toshiba SD330 DVD Player up to it.

Now I've heard you can get optical splitters so you can connect two devices to one optical in.

Now I'm a fussy bugger and I don't use scart splitters because of the drop-out in picture quality.

Is there any drop in audio quality in using an optical splitter and if not which is the best optical splitter to buy.

Any help gratefully received as I'm a newbie with regards connecting anything to an amp.

2. DucatiEVO

DucatiEVO

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using a splitter like the one below (not exactly the same but close enough), to connect my xbox and hs2 into one optical on my dsp.

Not had any sound loss problems.

:)

Splitter

3. Pug72

Pug72

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +311
    I used a splitter too for years before upgrading my amp.

Worked fine.

Got mine from Homebase.

4. John

John

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    Not had any problems with mine either , using it with matching MAXVIEW optical leads :rotfl: from B&Q . (XBOX & SKY+ into amp)

5. The_kUrGaN

The_kUrGaN

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    Now I'm confused. I have the same problem ie need to connect Sky and XBox opticals into my amp that only has one input for optical. Now, I thought I was going to have to buy a switch, but you're all talking about a splitter. Heeeeeeeelp

6. John

John

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,881