Optical splitter needed

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by pstones578, Jan 2, 2007.

  1. pstones578

    pstones578
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Can anyone recommend something that will allow me to send two optical sources to one optical input on my amp. I would prefer for the device to do all the work for me and for me not to have to manually switch.
     
  2. orc brute

    orc brute

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi yes there is definatley one ,i purchased one from tandys last month i have my xbox 360 and sky hd working through it and its great , the trouble is i cant remember the make , the price was £9.99:)
     
  3. pstones578

    pstones578
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    If you can have a look at it when you can and see what model it is would appreciate it!
     
  4. Rizza

    Rizza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +368
    Check this, the 3rd question in the Q&A suggests it meets your needs.

    Rizza
     
  5. pstones578

    pstones578
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Are optical cables pretty much all the same as I will need me a couple of these as well.
     
  6. Rizza

    Rizza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +368
    Yes, AV optical cables have standard connectors, and no point spending too much on one.

    Rizza
     
  7. Dubster

    Dubster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Down South
    Ratings:
    +119
  8. fallenangle

    fallenangle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    Assuming it's of high enough quality and doesn't degrade the signal that Maplins splitter should work in reverse as a basic two way auto-switcher rather well as long as you remember to turn the other machine off, of course. It's a considerably cheaper solution than most optical (usually 3-way) manual switchers.

    Actually it seems like a more sensible use for it - why does anyone need to split a single optical output into two anyway?

    BTW toslink optical cable/plug quality does matter. True you don't need to spend a fortune but you should avoid cheap, thin easily damaged types which often use inferior quality optical fibres anyway. I'd also go for the so called 'pro' rather than 'mid-range' version - I've always been of the opinion that the 'mid-range' are often exactly the same quality as the cheap ones just with an extra protective insulation sleeve.

    Since this post I've discovered that the make of splitter being recommended in preference to the Maplins' one is branded as Electrovision. It widely available online (Google "toslink splitter") and cheaper too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...