Oppo BDP-93 Networking Universal Blu-ray Player - Part 5

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by dante01, Aug 16, 2012.


    1. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      45,632
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +10,868
      MOD EDIT: This thread continues from http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-...-blu-ray-player-part-4-a-34.html#post17494206


      I too am not overly fond of the BDP93's audio when using its own onboard DACs. I prefer the results I get from the Burr Brown DACs onboard my Yamaha AV amp to the sound of the Cirrus Logic DACs onboard the BDP93. But the BDP95 has entirely different DACs so …
       
      Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2012
    2. MeanDorris

      MeanDorris
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 23, 2008
      Messages:
      1,974
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Herts
      Ratings:
      +932
      Out of interest, are you able to get a negative (wrong zone) response from the player rather than positive (it playing)?

      i.e. if you set to Zone A and put in a Zone B disc does it come up with a "Wrong Zone" message or vice vera (an A disc won't play when player set to zone B).?
       
    3. spikey1

      spikey1
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 9, 2004
      Messages:
      459
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +18
      Hi Dean,

      Can I just check you are saying not to do the update when it's officially available even on players with the pro mod kit pre-installed by you?

      Thanks, S
       
    4. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      45,632
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +10,868
      You're free to apply the new update, but if you do then your Pro mod kit will fail to function thereafter.
       
    5. MeanDorris

      MeanDorris
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 23, 2008
      Messages:
      1,974
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Herts
      Ratings:
      +932
      We are testing at the moment, but I would advise any one with pro mod kits to hold fire at the moment.

      We have done one testing but results are currently inconsistent.

      EDIT: And yes, to clarify, in relation to the public release as of this morning.
       
      Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
    6. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      45,632
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +10,868
      In what way? Is the mod kit rendered useless or do you mean you're experiencing mixed results from player to player?
       
    7. irascian

      irascian
      Banned

      Joined:
      Jun 27, 2006
      Messages:
      1,990
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +302
      I have an Oppo 95 not an Oppo 93 but foolishly clicked "OK" on the "firmware update available. Want to update?" prompt that suddenly appeared this morning (because my player is Ethernet connected).

      Initial response was a chunkily pixelated display that "glimmered", even the Oppo main menu. This was apparently because I didn't reset the default settings which is required after applying an upgrade (even though I hadn't changed any settings). Resetting the defaults fixed things so Region 2 discs play Ok but I have lost all multi-region capability.

      If I select a region (powering on the unit using "1" or "2" on the remote) then when the disc draw is closed the player stops responding completely to the remote and the Oppo Blu-ray logo is sat frozen on the screen. The only way to get Region B playback back was to unplug the whole unit to get the remote working again and just use the "power" button on the remote which gives me the default zone B playability.

      Bottom line: The firmware update currently changes a multi-zone player to a single zone player if my experience is typical.
       
    8. MeanDorris

      MeanDorris
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 23, 2008
      Messages:
      1,974
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Herts
      Ratings:
      +932
      Upgrading one over ethernet compared to USB seemed OK at first, but then started to exhibit the problems.

      As Irascian has said, if you try to power on with the 1,2 or 3 buttons on the remote it will lock up the player, if you power on via the power switch the player should function OK but only in the default zone.

      A fix is being tested at the moment and should be released as soon as confirmed OK.
       
    9. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      45,632
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +10,868

      So the presence of the mod kit will not effect the player in a detrimental manner, but the firmware update will render the mod useless?

      A bit off topic, but the Pro kit previously had an update issued in relation to the rear USB port (PRO mod firmware update 1.0g), but when I tried to apply that update nothing happened???
       
    10. Dave M

      Dave M
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      May 16, 2008
      Messages:
      9,039
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Lancashire
      Ratings:
      +2,218
      Mine's not multi region. Does that mean its ok for me to update? If so why should I?
       
    11. BrianMW

      BrianMW
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Apr 24, 2010
      Messages:
      2,012
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +433
      If this lot is of any help to you:

      Source: Firmware | Customer Services | OPPO BD UK

      If not then you might want to hold of for a while... most likely everyone will eventually come across a disc or situation that requires you to update.
       
    12. Ideal AV

      Ideal AV
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2011
      Messages:
      11,007
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Normanton
      Ratings:
      +6,385
      Hi Dave

      the update appears only to affect the pro mod kit, albeit sporadically as i`ve intalled 2 today and they appear to be working fine, or at least i`ll continue to test this afternoon.

      if you feel you don`t need to do the update on your 93 then don`t if everything is working as it should and to your satifaction

      Allan
       
    13. Duncan Harvey

      Duncan Harvey
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 25, 2003
      Messages:
      953
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Location:
      Lichfield
      Ratings:
      +117
      My oppo now says bd reg b and DVD reg 2 when I enter 0770 on the setup screen :(

      Really hope there is a fix for this...
       
    14. SLK320

      SLK320
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jun 21, 2005
      Messages:
      127
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Sweden
      Ratings:
      +28
      Mines for some reason stuck in region A and region 0 for DVD, so the chip is working sort of i guess.

      Edit. After exiting this screen its back to default.
       
      Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
    15. fleika

      fleika
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Aug 16, 2012
      Messages:
      1
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Ratings:
      +0
      2011 OPPO BDP-93 3D PRO MOD MultiZone Blu Ray Zone A/B: Amazon.de: Elektronik

      hi,
      i bought this player with a pro mod different from the bluraychip.dk mod.

      to choose the region,in standby, you have to press blue,then 1or 2 for region a or b.then power on.

      i contacted the seller,he wrote me,this pro mod would not be affected by
      the newest firmware update.

      anybody with the same modified player who can confirm this ?
       
    16. Julio V

      Julio V
      Banned

      Joined:
      May 16, 2005
      Messages:
      438
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +6
      Thank you very much for your all replies. I have just searched the web and found out that some one asked the same question, then he got a reply from OPPO staff:
      " He (oppo staff) said the studios are concerned about the audio quality of the BD soundtrack but since the vast majority of buyers will be using the HDMI, the recordings take a back seat as compared to making a CD. The 93 & 95 players with their respective DAC's can only playback the BD movie audio via the 7.1 analog to the standards set forth in the recording which fall short of a CD recording. In other words he said it's a whole different ballgame when it comes to the audio mastering of a CD. This is where the Sabre DAC's in the 95 will really shine because the source is recorded to a much higher standard because the playback will be via analog & not HDMI. "

      It seems I am going to the final decision
       
    17. Paul Moran

      Paul Moran
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Sep 12, 2006
      Messages:
      726
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +124
      I have a similar model (USA machine with Pro Mod, which covers region C as well as A & B). It will still play Region A and B BDs, after installation of the 14/8/2012 USA firmware mod. (I have not tested region C.)
       
      Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
    18. Julio V

      Julio V
      Banned

      Joined:
      May 16, 2005
      Messages:
      438
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +6
      Hi BrianMW, Thanks for your reply.

      Let the vol ( on the remote control) untouched. Have you ever connected the Oppo direct to the amp if you adjust the level in "speakers level set up"? in that way, is it digital or analogue adjusted? Thanks
       
    19. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      45,632
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +10,868
      adjustments to the levels only effects the analogue outputs. The levels are not changed by using the volume control and the volume control increases or decreases the volume as a whole and not each individual channel. The levels settings are provided in order to allow a user to calibrate their speakers. AV amps tend not to offer the ability to manage calibration if dealing with multichannel analogue inputs so this has to be done via the player's settings. The same would be true if using the player with a multichannel power amp and you'd use the levels settings to calibrate the output. If using a power amp directly connected to the player then you'd also not have the room correction commonly associated with integrated AV amps.
       
    20. Julio V

      Julio V
      Banned

      Joined:
      May 16, 2005
      Messages:
      438
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +6
      Hi thanks for your reply,

      I think you mis understand me

      My question is: can oppo be connected directly to the power amp.
      According to your reply, it seems i do not need 7.1 preamp:
      level setting to calibrate out put ( analogue)
      Volume control( on the remote) for the whole = master volume

      Please correct me if I am wrong
       
    21. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      45,632
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +10,868
      Yes, you can connect the OPPO's analogue outputs directly to a multichannel power amp sans a pre amp and/or processor and control the master volume via the player's remote. Note that the absence of a pre amp/processor will require speaker calibration and bass management to be carried out via the OPPO's settings. As I already mentioned previously, you'll also not have any form of room correction or EQ adjustment if going straight from the player to an external power amp.
       
    22. Rickyj @ Kalibrate

      Rickyj @ Kalibrate
      Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 29, 2003
      Messages:
      5,870
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Surrey
      Ratings:
      +1,896
      Update for the mod chip available here.

      Please read the pdf for updating instructions.

      This is done at your own risk. Please contact your dealer if you need assistance with the update.
       
    23. Duncan Harvey

      Duncan Harvey
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 25, 2003
      Messages:
      953
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Location:
      Lichfield
      Ratings:
      +117
      Thanks for this - it works - although I pressed ok after doing the 0770 test and it locked it back as Region B/2...

      So I repeated the complete procedure and it worked - phew!
       
    24. SLK320

      SLK320
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jun 21, 2005
      Messages:
      127
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Sweden
      Ratings:
      +28
      Link doesn't work.
       
    25. MovieFan60

      MovieFan60
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jun 7, 2009
      Messages:
      1,167
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Ratings:
      +239
      I got an email from bluraychip with the link but this also does not work - just emailed them

      Just wondering if they have found a problem with the new update and that's why the link has been removed?
       
      Last edited: Aug 17, 2012
    26. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      45,632
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +10,868
    27. irascian

      irascian
      Banned

      Joined:
      Jun 27, 2006
      Messages:
      1,990
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +302
      Was sent the fix by my dealer this morning but can't get it to work.

      When the USB key is read the LED blinks once for less than a second not several times as the instructions indicate. It is the Oppo USB key supplied with the unit, FAT32 formatted and inserted into the front panel as instructed.

      After the 20 second install (the screen flashes after 20 seconds indicating something's happening) and subsequent power-down the TOP MENU - SETUP - RED - 6 action does NOT power the machine back on as indicated.

      Using the normal power on button and then pressing the blue button (because the T-S-R-6 sequence doesn't work) does not display any Pro modchip version number.

      This is my first Oppo firmware upgrade and I'm not impressed, first of all by the fact that the original firmware upgrade was first described as "affecting some users" when it quite clearly should be (and appears to be) affecting all or none, and secondly by the fact they've sent out a fix that clearly hasn't been tested. I'd rather wait a week and have them do the job properly than rush out things that just bork things even more making attempts to track back the sequence of what might have happened even harder.

      On the upside, at least the player still plays Region B (touch wood)
       
      Last edited: Aug 17, 2012
    28. JGM

      JGM
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 13, 2002
      Messages:
      998
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Alderley Edge
      Ratings:
      +232
      I can see where your forum id came from.

      I also received the firmware file from my dealer this morning and everything went as per the instructions. Did you unzip the file and copy across the two .frm files?

      I'm also confused about your statement that this was the first Oppo firmware that you ahve installed. Firstly this is not from Oppo, it is from Bluraychip.dk and secondly if you had never done a firmware update on your Oppo then you didn't need the updated firmware mod in the first place.

      Have a cup of tea, calm down and try again.

      John
       
    29. Rickyj @ Kalibrate

      Rickyj @ Kalibrate
      Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 29, 2003
      Messages:
      5,870
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Surrey
      Ratings:
      +1,896
      I understand that the link was removed for a short time, as there was a typing mistake in the instructions. The PRO firmware test is:

      TOP MENU - SETUP - YELLOW - 6 ,and then press Yellow to check the firmware has started up with no disc.

      ;)
       
    30. irascian

      irascian
      Banned

      Joined:
      Jun 27, 2006
      Messages:
      1,990
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +302
      Cheeky bugger!

      It was the first Oppo firmware I installed that caused the problem and meant I suddenly had a region-locked player instead of the multi-zone one I'd purchased. Not rocket science to work that out surely? Why would I be installing the Pro Mod if I hadn't installed the firmware which I'd been prompted to install (and which defaulted to "OK") via Ethernet yesterday?

      Heh, just a thought but maybe it's YOU who should have a cup of tea and calm down before leaping in to criticise? :p

      I had tried following the instructions step by step several times. I even recopied the files after clearing down the files on the USB Key.

      Nothing worked.

      What was really frustrating was I bought this player just 2 weeks ago specifically because I had a Panasonic region free player that borked as soon as I put a firmware upgrade on it. I was very explicit when looking for a new player in stating that I wanted one that would survive firmware upgrades. I was assured that so long as I didn't apply any firmware upgrades via the front USB port the Oppo with this mod was that player.

      Obviously this latest firmware upgrade has surprised everyone with proving that not to be the case.

      However, I am now working thanks to excellent support from my dealer.

      It turned out that using the Oppo branded USB key I got with the player was the problem (oh the irony!) When I used an old USB key with a ton of other junk on it instead things worked as detailed in the instructions.

      I do think the instructions should be clearer that when they give you four keys to press it should be in sequence rather than altogethr at once. It's not entirely obvious.
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice