Oppo BDP-93/95 - Other Components?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Szadzik, Aug 2, 2012.

1. Szadzik

Szadzik

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +40
    Hi All,

I am starting to build a home cinema/ music playback system for my living room.

Right now I have not got any components for the system, but have decided, that I want to limit the number of components to a minimum and have chosen to use Oppo BDP-93/ 95 as the base for playing everything.

I have little knowledge about home cinema and stereo and thus I am looking for advice from you.

Requirements:

- To play both movies and music (stereo only) equally well
    - To buy all components around 6000 GBP for amplification, Oppo, speakers.

Can you give me any ideas on how I should set this up so that I can play music in stereo as well as get good home cinema performance?

Thanks in advance,
    Szadzik

2. dante01

dante01
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11,044
    So you've about £4500 to play with if you buy an OPPO BDP93?

I should mention that it is very unlikely that you'll end up with an integrated solution that gives you both music and movie audio of equal SQ. You usually have to sacrifice some of the SQ associated with music in order to facilitate the amplification of multi channel surround sound audio.

If wanting an integrated AV solution as opposed to separate pre processor and power amplification then I'd suggest you look at the Anthem MRX700 or the Arcam AVR600. The Arcam would pretty much blow your budget in one fell swoop so the Anthem is a more likely candidate unless you also consider the lesser Arcam AVR400. Either the Anthem or the AVR400 would leave you with £2000 - £2500 for speakers.

3. Szadzik

Szadzik

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +40