opitcal or coaxial

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Kwon, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. Kwon

    Kwon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon uk
    Ratings:
    +7
    hi
    Got a pace hd box using opitcal at the mo , Just got sammy blu ray and it has not got digital coaxial output just opitcal ,Is there going to be a problem using sky hd over coaxial digital output to amp and blu ray over the opitcal out put, ie am i still going to get dd etc over coaxial digital output fine.(on sky)
    only got 2 opitcal and 1 coaxial inputs on amp
    and 360 using one opitcal
    cheers guys
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,474
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
    Are you sure the SKY box has digital co-ax out?
    Either way digital co-ax and optical produce the exact same results.
     
  3. paulmapp8306

    paulmapp8306
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    No problem - its what I do.

    My old Marantz DVD player was co-axial and Sky+ Optical.

    When I got my Sammy HD I had to plug that in via Optical. Luckily my Pace Sky HD box has both types of out - the the co-axial is used for this.
     
  4. Steve N

    Steve N
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,944
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +2,390
    Optical is my connection of choice too but either is fine.
     
  5. Kwon

    Kwon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon uk
    Ratings:
    +7
    Cheers guys
    least can still have all three with dd :thumbsup::thumbsup:
     
  6. mudstuff

    mudstuff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +412
    +1 for coax, personally I find it slightly clearer. I have my new samsung hd box connected by coax and have no problems whatsoever and it sounds very good for broadcast - recorded The Faculty off SciFi HD and the 5.1 track was really good. Considering I mostly listen to lossless tracks on bluray, i was quite surprised.
     

Share This Page

Loading...