1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

opinions wanted please

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by shazbah, May 17, 2004.

1. shazbah

shazbah
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all. Been reading everyones post and dribbling over the photos of your plasma setups. Being a real novice i can only dream of your knowledge on the plasma jargon. Heres my question, i would love a plasma but only have a couple of grand, the techwood seems to be the only thing in my price range and some people have reported bad picture quaility on theres. I have just seen a Sony KE42TS2E for £2600 which comes with stand and built in tuner.
    Why is it when reading through page and pages of plasmas ive not come across anyone with a sony? I have a new sony surround system which just cost me £600 so would make sence to link them up. Would you guys not recomend a sony?

2. Liam @ Prog AV

Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +827
    Yeah the TEchwood screens are pretty awful. The Sony's are based on Hitachi panels but somehow didn't quite get the same quality as the Hitachi (this may have changed with recen revisions mind). Panasonic is the flavour of the month, every month here and with the huge popularity of the screen demand has pulled the price right down to lower than you have seen that Sony for so my advice would be if you're already very close save up for a little longer and get the Panny!!!

The manufacturer of your kit has little or no relevance on linking your DVD to plasma. The output of the Sony you have will be the same no matter what display it is going into.